Wilmot Raceway Logo

Cox Captures Wilmot Prize

WILMOT, Wis. — Tim Cox captured his first 20-lap Autometer/Brewington Electric Wisconsin Wingless Sprint Car Feature of the season Saturday at Wilmot Raceway. 

Jimmy Sivia took second with Clayton Rossmann third.

“I don’t like starting up front, but it offered extra challenges to figure out what line to use,” said Cox, who led flag to flag despite some challenges from both Sivia and Rossmann. “It’s good to get a win. Extra special for my mother even though she’s not here.”

Mark Heinert duplicated Cox fete by leading start to finish in the 20-lap IRA Lightning Sprint Feature, his first main win of the year. “I have to thank my main mechanic, my family and everyone who supports me,” said Heinert.

In the modifieds, Caledonia’s Chris Carlson made it back to back wins in the 20-lap feature.  Nick Simons was a close second. 

“I knew Nick was coming, and I think the last caution gave me a chance to rethink the groove I was using which ended up working,” said Carlson.

David McKellips ended a six-year winless drought in the Bandit 4-cylinder stock cars by capturing his first 15-lap feature. 

“Finally after six years with this car, we won the heat and the feature,” said McKellips, dedicating the victories to a family member lost to the COVID virus.

Rob Maule captured his first 15-lap street stock feature after going winless last season.  “We finally got rid of the gremlins,” said Maule.



error: Content is protected !!