Ty Majeski in victory lane Friday at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski Photo)
Ty Majeski in victory lane Friday at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway. (Stan Kalwasinski Photo)

Ty Majeski Rules Dick Trickle 99

WEST SALEM, Wis. — Ty Majeski came home the overall winner of the JE Pistons Dick Trickle 99 super late model event at LaCrosse Fairgrounds Speedway Friday night as the Badger State speed plant kicked off the 52nd Oktoberfest Race Weekend. 

The 27-year-old Majeski, from Seymour, Wis., posted a victory in the first 33-lap segment of the Trickle 99 and followed up with fourth and fifth place finishes to garner the overall crown.  Majeski, who wheeled the Toby Nuttleman-prepped Camry No. 91, shared 33-lap segment victory honors with Dalton Zehr and Johnny Sauter.

The first 33 lapper saw Majeski, who was the event’s fastest qualifier among almost 50 entries, lead the race from flag-to-flag, taking the checkered flag ahead of Casey Johnson, Dan Fredrickson, Skylar Holzhausen and Carson Kvapil. Zehr finished ahead of Jonathan Eilen in the second No. 33 with Gabe Sommers, Majeski and Derek Kraus rounding out the top five.  Sauter, a regular with the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series and the 2016 series champion, captured the 33-lap finale ahead of Zehr, Fredrickson, Johnson and Majeski, who started 14th in the 24-car field.

“You give it all you have (in the final segment) and hope your car holds on,” said Majeski after being named the overall winner.  “You have to make up positions and make them up quick.  There were a lot of great race cars here. You have to be on your game to run well in this race. It’s a unique format and it makes it super exciting for the fans.

“He (Trickle) was the greatest short track racer of all time. It’s one of the biggest races in the state. There were (nearly) 50 cars here and 15 made in it on time. It was cool to come out on top tonight.”

A field of 20 answered the call for the Stubby 25 for drivers that did not qualify for the Trickle race. Justin Mondeik, from Gleason, Wis., scored the win ahead of Griffin McGrath, Derek Lemke, Ryan Farrell and Alex Stumpf.

Area sportsman and LaCrosse late models also saw action during the night with former track champion Steve Carlson among the winners.

error: Content is protected !!