Hot lapping earlier in the evening, Indiana racer Adam Taylor was the winner of the Badger Midgets Advanced Fastening Supply 25-lap feature race at Illinois' Sycamore Speedway Saturday night. (Stan Kalwasinski Photo)

Taylor Captures Sycamore Badger Main Event

MAPLE PARK, Ill. — Indiana’s Adam Taylor captured the 25-lap Advanced Fastening Supply Badger Midgets feature race at Sycamore Speedway Saturday night.   

Thirty cars made the trip to the Illinois based track for the first of two nights in August. Points leaders Todd Kluever and Mark McMahill checked in to defend their leads. Rookie sensations Parker Jones, Miles Doherty and others made the trip to the exciting one-third-mile.

A name that was unknown if they were going to appear was Jace Sparks, who less than a week before the race, destroyed his No. 40 car in a crash at Angell Park Speedway.

The single car qualifying session saw Kluever take the FiveOne Motorsports Fast Time Award with a time of 14.812. Jack Routson followed him with a 14.910 and Tyler Baran rounded out the top three with a 14.921.

The Advanced Fastening Supply A-Main rolled off, ready for 25 laps of action, with Gedd Ross and Aaron Schuck starting from the front row. Drama started early as polesitter Ross wouldn’t fire off, causing him to not be able to start the feature.

Jones was promoted to the lead and led the field to green. Schuck ran the high line on the first lap to take the lead from Jones. Fifth starting Taylor planted his No. 5x on the high line and worked his way around Schuck for the lead on lap three. Jones and Daniel Robinson battled it out for the top-three until Jones looped it in turn four, bringing out the first yellow flag of the night.

The field was able to get a lap in on the restart before Baran spun out in turn four, bringing out the second yellow. Collins came to a halt under the yellow ending his night early.

Robinson restarted second and tried to keep Taylor honest for the lead before two quick yellows halted his advances. Calamity struck for Robinson while under yellow, as his No. 6b Mike Raymond machine came to a stop in turn four with a mechanical issue.

Mike Stroik ran into trouble as well, ending his night early on the restart. Taylor led the field back to green but the battle was on for second, as Schuck and Kluever went at it.

Kluever came through to take the spot but soon was challenged by a late charging Routson. Even with the late race run by Routson, all eyes were on Taylor, who came through to pick up yet another win this season and close the point gap. Routson came home second with Kluever rounding out the podium. Schuck came home fourth and coming all the way from the back after his spin, Jones.

In accompanying stock car feature race action, points leader Greg Cantell Jr., currently on top of the standings, won the limited late model main event, taking the checkered flag in front of Josh Breese, fast qualifier Titus Sneed, Danny Deutsch and Corey Trump. 

The street stock feature race was won by Dave Dulceak as he added to his points lead, defeating Zach Zuberbier and Cory McKay. 

The pure stocks division feature went to Luke Robbins, who was chased to the finish line by Zack Orts and points leader Mike Nelms.

The Finish

Adam Taylor, Jack Routson, Todd Kluever, Aaron Schuck, Parker Jones, Cody Weisensel, Mark McMahill, Matt Rechek, Kevin Douglas, Kyle Stark, RJ Corson, Daltyn England, Aaron Muhle, Tyler Roth, Miles Doherty, Kyle Koch, Harrison Kleven, Daniel Robinson, Mike Stroik, Tyler Baran, Dave Collins Jr., Greg Ross