Eddie Hoffman in victory lane after winning the late model feature race at Illinois’ Grundy County Speedway Friday night. (Chris Goodaker Photo)

Hoffman Wins Grundy Late Model Main

MORRIS, Ill. — Looking to be on his way to another track championship, Eddie Hoffman won the 30-lap late model stock car feature race at Grundy County Speedway Friday night.

The seven-time late model titlist from Wheaton, Ill., guided his Feece Oil Co.-sponsored Chevrolet No. 8 to his third feature win of the season, his 153rd career win. Fastest qualifier in the late model ranks, Hoffman held a 0.503-second lead over Tony Brutti at the checkered flag.  

Dave Gentile Jr., Steve Seligman and Clay Curts rounded out the top five.

Another division points leader, Kenny Benson was the winner of the 25-lap sportsman main event. Nailing down his fifth win of the year, Benson bested fast qualifier Jeremiah Senko, Kevin Murphy, Marqus Hoover and Vince Cooper. 

Another driver seemingly rolling to a track championship, Matt Chester came home the winner of the 25-lap street stock feature. Chester scored his seventh win of the season in front of Darrell Gay, fast timer Cameron Preisler, Sal Lozano and Jonathan Stevens.  

Gavin Legner won the 20-lap pure stock (four-cylinder) headliner, defeating Ethan Wolf and Danielle Dobczyk. 

Travis Mahoney was the winner of the feature race for the Midwest Mayhem Midgets, scoring his fourth consecutive win. Earlier in the evening, Mahoney, a second-generation driver from Madison, Wis., set fast time in his Liberty Village-sponsored open-wheeler and then raced to victory in the 20-lap main event ahead of six-time midget champion Scott Koerner, Chris Adrien, Mike Slabenak Jr. and Basil Hicks.