Brad DeYoung poses in victory lane after his DIRTcar modified feature win at Indiana’s Shadyhill Speedway Saturday night. (Stan Kalwasinski photo)

DeYoung Wins Shadyhill Modified Main

MEDARYVILLE, Ind. — Brad DeYoung was the winner of the 20-lap DIRTcar modified feature race at Shadyhill Speedway Saturday night. 

DeYoung, a four-time champion at the speedway including last year’s title, scored his first feature win of the season at the quarter-mile dirt oval and only his second of the entire year, winning at Butler, Mich., a week ago. 

The veteran charger battled Zack Randall and Nick Allen and raced into the lead and the eventual victory.  At the checkered flag, it was DeYoung ahead of Jamie Lomax, the speedway’s former multi-time track titlist and current division points leader who started 17th in the 18-car field. 

Randall, Matt Baker, Allen, who slid to a stop and brought out a yellow flag, and Tim Sullivan Jr. rounded out the top six finishers. 

“We haven’t raced a lot here during the first two or three months,” said DeYoung. “I’ve been hitting it pretty hard the last three weeks or so. I have been really busy and haven’t raced a lot and there has been a lot of rainouts here (at Shadyhill).”

DeYoung used the middle and outside groove to get the lead and grab the victory.

“I don’t think Nick (Allen) thought I was out there,” commented DeYoung. “I think he would have probably have just followed in second and road around on the top and then tried dropping down. He tried working his way around the bottom (groove) which gave me a run around on the top.

“The car was really good and I thought you just had to be on the high-side tonight.  We saved ourselves to get through till the end.  The car was freein’ up and rotating good and had tons of traction. I can’t thank Ryan Thomas from Diamond Race Cars enough.”

Trevor Bitterling scored the victory in the 20-lap Bombers division main event. Bitterling captured his eighth overall feature win of the season ahead of Kiran Roundtree, points leader Travis Wolford, David Hurst and Brendan Mounce. 

Jon Doughty crashed hard in the opening lap of the Bombers feature, ending up on his roof but escaped injury.

Lynn Johns took home top honors in the 20-lap feature race for the Rebel Late Models division. Gunning for this first championship in 30 years of racing, Johns, on top of the current points standings, bested Kyle Cooper, Jace Owens, Richie Shirey and Daniel Hopper for his fourth win of the year.

Skylar Antonelli was awarded the victory in the 20-lap 4-Bangers class feature after apparent winner Guy Sutton was disqualified after not adhering to the track’s claiming rule. Tearson Wolford and Jason Yates were credited with second and third.