Hidden Valley Logo

Montgomery Takes Sheetz McGarvey Memorial

CLEARFIELD, Pa. — Ryan Montgomery picked up the 13th Annual Shawn “Sheetz” McGarvey Memorial for the Super Late Models on Saturday night at Hidden Valley Speedway.

The Super Late Models were led onto the track with Montgomery and Joey Petyak on the front row, with Petyak darting into the lead at the drop of the green flag. Petyak was setting a torrid pace through the first 10 laps with Montgomery second and Michael Lake in third. As the field was beginning to lap traffic Marvin “Waco” Williams got crossed up and tangled with Lake, bringing out the first caution flag.

On the restart, fourth place starter Jon Lee went to the high side and moved past Montgomery, Lake and Petyak for the lead. Petyak began to fade as Montgomery took over second and Lake would spin on lap 12. Continuing to use the outside line, Lee was holding onto the lead on the restart as another caution slowed the field on lap 13.

The lap 14 restart saw Montgomery try the Lee line, as he went to the outside, preventing Lee from using the outside and forcing him to stay low. With Montgomery high, Lee was unable to muster the speed he had to outrun Montgomery into the first corner.

Montgomery had the lead at the conclusion of lap 14 and survived two late cautions to grab his first career Hidden Valley Speedway win. Lee held on to a close second with Ryan Scott third, Darrell Bossard was fourth and Matt Cochran in fifth. 

Choya Young picked up the win in the first ever appearance by the All-Star Legend Series and Brad Benton won the Pure Stock feature. The Small Block Modified feature and the Little’s Drive In Four Cylinder feature were postponed due to time. 

Feature Finish (30 Laps)

1. Ryan Montgomery, Fairmont, WV; 2. Jon Lee, 3. Ryan Scott, 4. Darrell Bossard, 5. Matt Cochran, 6. JR Toner, 7. Dylan Cecee, 8. Michael Lake, 9. Derek Rodkey, 10. Dylan Fenton, 11. Luke Hoffner, 12. Gary Lyle, 13. Jeremy Ohl, 14. Marvin “Waco” Williams, 15. Joe Petyak, 16. Nathan Brady, 17. Todd English, 18. Josh Henry, 19. Justin Owens Did Not Start – Laura Reilly, Gary Little and Paul Spear