Wall Stadium Speedway Logo

Krause Opens Wall Turkey Derby With Victory

WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. – Andrew Krause raced from mid-pack to win a suspense filled 100-lap Wall Modified stock car feature race during day one of the 48th annual Turkey Derby at Wall Stadium Speedway on Saturday.

Turkey Derby action will continue Nov. 26-27 with tour-type modifieds taking center stage in a 150-race on Saturday afternoon.

In the Wall Modified 100-lapper, Ricky Collins and Brick wrestled for the top spot early as Jimmy Blewett and Krause raced towards the front of the field. By lap 20 Blewett and Krause moved into the top two spots and then a battle that would keep most fans riveted ensued. Lap after green flag lap Blewett and Krause raced in tight formation with Krause often times darting to either side of Blewett looking for a path to the front.

A lap 89 restart then offered a side-by-side front row with the leader Blewett electing to start in the outside lane with Krause on his inside. Blewett nosed ahead for a moment, before the duo raced side-by-side for several laps before Krause moved to the front on the 92nd circuit. Krause, the track’s driving champ, then raced to his seventh win of the year with Blewett, Anthony Sesely, Blake Barney and Derek Hopkinson completing the top five.

“What a great way to end a great Wall Modified season for everyone on our team,” Krause said after the win. “I was disappointed when Jimmy took the outside lane on that last restart because this car has been good up there this year and he knew it. But this car was great everywhere on the track today.”

Kyle Scisco of Jackson took the win in the companion 50-lap sportsman race, driving a car that was nearly destroyed in an August wreck. Blake Barney, the early race leader, crossed the finish line in second, while brothers Carsten and Jarret DiGiantomasso were third and fourth. Shanon Mongeau was fifth.

Billy Both fought off competition for the entire 40-lap distance to win the first of two Turkey Derby Factory stock main events over Nick Catone. Brian Osborn, Ryan Flores and Johnny Carpenter completed the top five.

Ryan Maher won the non-stop 40-lapper for the Fast 4 cars over Alex Graetz, Billy Pross, Ryan Warren and Mike Lavery.

The finishes of the Modified, Sportsman and Factory Stock main events remain unofficial at this writing as tire sample were sent to a laboratory to insure there was no tanpering. Results should be official by mid-week.

error: Content is protected !!