Grandview Speedway Logo

Hirthler & Strunk Star At Grandview

BECHTELSVILLE, Pa. — Defending NASCAR T.P.Truck Equipment Sportsman champion Brian Hirthler piloted the Green Lane/Wm. Penn PPB No. 4* to his third win of the season in the T.P. Truck Equipment Sportsman event on Saturday night at Grandview Speedway.

Jeff Strunk, who has been having a rather up and down season and struggling on occasion, finally got the monkey off his back and parked the Zubi Racing No. 88Z in the winner’s circle for his first 358 NASCAR Advance Auto Parts Weekly Series 30-lap T.P.Trailers Modified feature to be the sixth different winner during the current season.

Sportsman action saw Adrianna Delliponti, the first female driver in the division, who is also a Micro Sprint driver, take the early lead from the pole starting spot.

Within a short time, she outdistanced herself leaving Tom Miller, previous feature winners Decker Swinehart, Jesse Landis and Kyle Lilick jockey for the remaining positions.

Lilick worked his way into second by the 14th lap and two laps later he reeled Delliponti in to challenge her for the lead in quest of another win.

The red was thrown on the 17th lap as Tyler James was sitting along the berm of the backstretch infield and was aided by the fire crew. When action resumed Lilick outgunned Delliponti to become the new leader.

Once Lilick was in control he wasted no time building up a comfortable lead and by this point was being chased down by Landis, Jimmy Leiby, Delliponti and Hirthler.

Dakota Kohler slowed his pace in the third turn and had to be towed into the pits for the 27th lap caution period. Lilick held his pace on the restart, but it was Hirthler on the move as he advanced into the runner-up spot.

On the 30th lap Lilick’s car developed a push and he almost hit the fourth turn wall. He collected it, but Hirthler capitalized on the situation and moved into first as Lilick was now second followed by Landis, Leiby and Dylan Hoch.

Mike Schneck set up a one-lap dash to the checkered when he stopped along the backstretch apron for the yellow. Hirthler motored away quickly to remain first and went on to collect he checkered for his tenth career triumph. Chasing him across the line were Lilick, Landis, Hoch and Leiby.

Mark Kratz was the early pacesetter in the Modified feature with pressure coming from Darrin Schuler, Brett Gilmore, Ryan Lilick and John Willman.

After three attempts to complete the fifth lap Kratz was still the leader, but now Hirthler was second putting his bids in on the leader.

Doug Manmiller, who was running a solid fourth, slowed his pace in turn one with mechanical problems for the seventh lap caution. On the restart, Hirthler charged into the lead and Strunk followed through for second to challenge.

Jesse Leiby hit the second turn wall and brought out the final yellow on lap 22. At this time Strunk became the new leader.

Throughout the race positions were constantly changing behind Strunk, but he never surrendered first and went on to chalk up Saturday night career win number 76.

Kressley came on strong in the final stages for second trailed by Hirthler, Von Dohren and Umbenhauer.


error: Content is protected !!