Rico Abreu looks on prior to competing. (Frank Smith Photo)

Rico Abreu Set To Chase High Limit Championship

After much speculation, Rico Abreu has revealed he’ll be contesting a full High Limit Racing schedule next season. 

Abreu, who narrowly missed out on the inaugural High Limit championship by seven points to Kyle Larson this year, is set to compete in all 60 of the series’ events aboard the No. 24 Rico Abreu Racing machine. 

Last week, Abreu spoke with World of Outlaws competitor David Gravel on a recent episode of The Gravel Show, where he stated his intent to run a true outlaw schedule next year. 

The 31-year-old revealed his decision on Wednesday evening via social media.

It was a banner season for Abreu and the RAR team as they scored 13 sprint car victories on the season. Six of those triumphs came with the World of Outlaws.

Abreu enters next season as High Limit’s winningest driver with four winner’s trophies.

The California native joins the likes of five-time World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series Brad Sweet, All Star Circuit of Champions driver’s champion Zeb Wise, Shark Racing’s Jacob Allen, Cory Eliason, Kasey Kahne and Brenham Crouch.