2023 09 26 Lernerville High Limit David Gravel Paul Arch Photo (72)a
David Gravel won Tuesday night's Commonwealth Clash for the High Limit Racing Series. (Paul Arch photo)

Gravel Banks $50,000 Commonwealth Clash

SARVER, Pa. — David Gravel picked up another big-money victory Tuesday night, winning the Commonwealth Clash with the High Limit Racing Series at Lernerville Speedway.

Gravel earned $50,000 for his first victory with the series and his 11th overall victory of the season.

Starting fourth in the 35-lap main event before a huge crowd at the four-tenths-mile track, Gravel steadily worked his way forward aboard the Big Game Motorsports No. 2, while Brad Sweet, who shared the front row with polesitter Kyle Larson, took the early lead.

Sweet was in lapped traffic only four laps into the feature.

The race was stopped eight laps in when Ryan Timms flipped in turn four.

Larson powered to the lead on the restart, but Sweet stormed right back at the other end of the track.

A few laps later, Sweet bobbled and Larson regained the point. When Justin Sanders stopped on the track while running third, Gravel and Rico Abreu moved into third and fourth.

After a red flag when Tim Shaffer flipped, Larson, Sweet and Gravel raced through traffic together battling for the point.

With just under 10 laps to go, Larson bobbled on the cushion and saved his Silva No. 57, but lost numerous spots, while Sweet blasted to the point with Gravel and Abreu in tow.

2023 09 26 Lernerville High Limit Brad Sweet Justin Sanders David Gravel Kyle Larson Paul Arch Photo (6)
The four-wide parade lap for Tuesday’s High Limit Racing Series event at Lernerville Speedway with Kyle Larson (57), David Gravel (2), Justin Sanders (39m) and Brad Sweet. (Paul Arch photo)

Gravel got a run on Sweet and grabbed the point with under five circuits remaining, while Abreu also moved past Sweet with James McFadden making it a four-car battle for the lead.

Gravel held off Abreu, who earned $20,000 for second, for the victory, while Sweet came home third. McFadden and Cory Eliason, who started 16th, rounded out the top five.

Larson was eighth at the checkered flag.

Sweet set a track record during qualifying for the 58-car field, turning a lap in 12.300 seconds.

The finish:

David Gravel, Rico Abreu, Brad Sweet, James McFadden, Cory Eliason, Aaron Reutzel, Tyler Courtney, Kyle Larson, Zeb Wise, Justin Peck, Cap Henry, Anthony Macri, Brian Brown, Kerry Madsen, Brent Marks, Kraig Kinser, Austin McCarl, Tanner Thorson, Skylar Gee, Tim Shaffer, Justin Sanders, Sye Lynch, Ryan Timms, Kasey Kahne.