Michael McDowell on track during last week's Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte Motor Speedway. (HHP/David Graham)

Front Row Motorsports Purchases Third Charter For 2025

MOORESVILLE, N.C. —  Front Row Motorsports will compete with three chartered Ford Mustang Dark Horses in the NASCAR Cup Series next season, after the team announced Wednesday it has acquired a third charter for 2025.

The news comes less than 24 hours after Stewart-Haas Racing revealed the closing of its doors at the conclusion of the 2024 season. 

FRM will continue to field an entry in the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series. Layne Riggs is the team’s current driver. 

“We have a very positive outlook on the future of NASCAR and as the sport plans for success, so do we,” said Bob Jenkins, owner, Front Row Motorsports. “Today that means having a plan for expanding back to three cars in the NASCAR Cup Series.

“I always have the vision to continue to grow and improve our team and that commitment and desire never changes. I am committed to the sport and its passionate fans and partners.”

The team is aware of the work ahead, but excited for the growth.

“It is good to get the news out now as we have a lot of work to do to prepare a new team,” said Jerry Freeze, general manager, Front Row Motorsports.

“All of us on the leadership team will be working through that, obtaining the parts and pieces needed for the new team. And, most importantly, adding to the dedicated and talented staff and culture that exists today within our organization.

“Starting a new team from scratch is always a challenge, but with the opportunities in front of us, the talent we have in our leadership, and a bit of a runway to get there, I am confident that we can produce three competitive programs out of the box for the 2025 season. We haven’t lost sight of what our goals for 2024 are, to get our teams into the playoffs for both series. If we can keep up the speed on track and have a little bit of luck to come our way, we can achieve our objectives.”

FRM is set to lose anchor driver Michael McDowell at season’s end after the 2021 Daytona 500 winner signed a multi-year deal with Spire Motorsports.

Todd Gilliland is FRM’s other full-time Cup Series driver, while rookie Zane Smith contests a part-time schedule. 

According to a team press release, driver announcements for next season will come at a later date.