Stewart-Haas Racing is closing its doors at the conclusion of the 2024 season but co-owner Gene Haas will field his own two-car Xfinity Series operation next season. (Matt Butcosk Photo)

Stewart-Haas Racing Shutting Down At Season’s End

KANNAPOLIS, N.C. — After two NASCAR Cup Series championships, two Xfinity Series titles and countless victories, Stewart-Haas Racing is closing its doors at the end of the season.

The team released a joint statement from co-owners Tony Stewart and Gene Haas announcing the news on Tuesday afternoon.

“We have made the difficult decision to close Stewart-Haas Racing at the conclusion of the 2024 season,” the statement began. “It is a decision that did not come easily, nor was it made quickly.

“Racing is a labor-intensive, humbling sport. It requires unwavering commitment and vast resources, with a 365-day mindset to be better than everyone else. It’s part of what makes success so rewarding.

“But the commitment needed to extract maximum performance while providing sustainability is incredibly demanding, and we’ve reached a point in our respective personal and business lives where it’s time to pass the torch.”

Stewart was announced as a co-owner of then-Haas CNC Racing in 2008, with the team rebranding to Stewart-Haas Racing in 2009.

The team won the 2011 Cup Series championship with Stewart and added a second title with Kevin Harvick in 2014. 

“We’re proud of all the wins and championships we’ve earned since joining together in 2009, but even more special is the culture we built and the friendships we forged as we committed to a common cause — winning races and collecting trophies,” the statement said. 

“That is the same commitment we made to our personnel, our partners and our fans coming into this year, and that commitment will remain through the season finale at Phoenix.”

Currently, the team fields four Cup Series entries with Chase Briscoe, Ryan Preece, Noah Gragson and Josh Berry. Drivers Cole Custer and Riley Herbst compete for the team in the Xfinity Series. 

Custer won the Xfinity Series championship last season aboard the No. 00 Ford. 

The statement concluded, “We have tremendous respect and appreciation for all of our employees, and we will work diligently to assist them during this transition to find new opportunities beyond the 2024 race season.”