Wcscmhof Logo New

West Coast Hall Of Fame Preps For Gala Event

SONOMA, Calif. — Two NASCAR Cup Series champions, along with a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series titleholder and a pioneering female Indianapolis 500 rookie of the year are among 10 racing greats to be enshrined Thursday (June 8) during the West Coast Stock Car/Motorsports Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023 ceremonies. 

Presented by World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway Motorsports Park, the Hall’s gala will be held at Sonoma Raceway’s Turn 11 Club.

The Hall’s induction ceremonies open a packed weekend of competition at Sonoma Raceway, including the inaugural NASCAR Xfinity Series event, the ARCA Menards Series West and culminating Sunday, June 11 with the NASCAR Cup Series Toyota/Save Mart 350.

Elected for induction in the Class of 2023 are Kurt Busch, Las Vegas, Nev., the 2014 NASCAR Cup Series champion and 34-time premier series winner; Matt Crafton, Tulare, Calif., a three-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion and winner of 15 NASCAR national series races; Kevin Harvick, Bakersfield, Calif., 2014 NASCAR Cup Series champion and winner of 60 premier series races; Brent Kaeding, Campbell, Calif., a 13-time Northern Auto Racing Club (NARC) sprint car champion and World of Outlaws winner; and Lyn St. James, Phoenix, Ariz., International Motor Sports (IMSA) class winner at the Rolex 24 at Daytona and 12 Hours of Sebring, Indianapolis 500 rookie of the year and leader in furthering through Women in Racing North America.

The 2023 Heritage inductees are Don Basile, Gardena, Calif., post-World War II driver, J.C. Agajanian partner and Speedway 117 operator; Burt Foland, Mountain View, Calif., two-time Bay Cities Racing Association midget champion and race winner in four decades; Fred Gerhardt, Fresno, Calif., engineer, Indianapolis 500 entrant and United States Auto Club championship car winner; Nick Rescino, San Francisco, Calif., six-time San Jose (Calif.) Speedway super modified champion and winner of six of the track’s prestigious Johnny Key Classic events; and Leroy Van Conett, Galt, Calif., eight-time Northern Auto Racing Club (NARC) champion and National Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee. 

The third annual Knockin Doorz Down Philanthropist of the Year award, presented by 51FIFTY, will be announced during award ceremonies. Nominees are The Kurt Busch Foundation, The Kevin Harvick Foundation, The Jimmie Johnson Foundation, The Steve Mariucci Family Foundation and Tony LaRussa’s Animal Rescue Foundation.
SPEED SPORT President Ralph Sheheen will serve as master of ceremonies.