Shane Golobic waves to the Placerville Speedway crowd following his win in the Tribute to Al Hinds. (Tim Holland Photo)

Tribute To Al Hinds Goes To Golobic

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — Shane Golobic has won some big races in his career at Placerville Speedway. On Saturday night, the Fremont native added another, by racing to victory in the 21st annual Tribute to Al Hinds.

Joining Golobic in victory lane on Saturday were Anthony Slaney with the Mountain Democrat Ltd. Late Models, Kevin Jinkerson with the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks and Mike Reeder with the Nor-Cal Dwarf Car Association. A strong crowd filled the grandstands and a packed pit area of 87 cars total helped us honor former Promoter Al Hinds at the event.

The 30-lap Thompson’s Family of Dealerships main event started out with Isaiah Vasquez setting a torrid pace up front in the Rod Tiner-owner No. 83sa machine. The action was fast and furious in the feature with several movers and shakers throughout. Golobic bided his time early while utilizing his veteran experience and then pounced following a lap seven restart.

As Golobic now sat out front, 14th-starting Landon Brooks had been making moves and drove up to second by the time a caution waved on lap nine. When going back to green Golobic held a steady lead until the race started to wind down. Brooks found speed late and closed right up on the leader with seven laps remaining, but tripped on the cushion, which gave Golobic the breathing room he needed.

After that all eyes on were on a tremendous battle for second that featured Brooks and 10th-starting Dylan Bloomfield, along with 16th-starter Justin Sanders right in the mix as well.

Golobic went on to accept the checkered flag for the $2,500 top prize and his 14th career Winged 360 triumph at Placerville Speedway. Bloomfield, Brooks, Sanders and Tanner Carrick completed the top five. 

Feature Finish (30 Laps)

1. 17W-Shane Golobic[2]; 2. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[10]; 3. 94TH-Landon Brooks[14]; 4. 4SA-Justin Sanders[16]; 5. 83T-Tanner Carrick[3]; 6. 94-Greg Decaires V[8]; 7. 21-Shane Hopkins[9]; 8. X1-Michael Faccinto[11]; 9. 7C-Tony Gomes[6]; 10. 46JR-Joel Myers Jr[12]; 11. 42X-Justyn Cox[5]; 12. 88A-Austin Torgerson[18]; 13. 9-DJ Freitas[15]; 14. 8JR-Brian McGahan Jr[20]; 15. 45-Jake Morgan[13]; 16. 92-Andy Forsberg[4]; 17. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[1]; 18. 12J-John Clark[19]; 19. 2A-Austin Wood[17]; 20. 77-Ryan Lippincott[7]