Sprint car action at Placerville Speedway. (Tim Holland Photo)

Placerville Opener On Tap This Weekend

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — Placerville Speedway will begin their Hoosier Tires championship season on Saturday night. 

The El Dorado County Fairgrounds based quarter-mile will present a detailed program of grass roots dirt track racing, including the Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Cars, the Anrak Ltd. Late Models, Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks and Wingless Spec Sprints.

SPEED SPORT affiliate CaliDirt.TV will provide flag-to-flag coverage of the event. 

Last year saw Andy Forsberg earn an unprecedented ninth Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Car championship on the red clay. Forsberg, however, is not scheduled to contest a full point season, opening the door for several to have a shot at bringing home their initial title.

Placerville’s own Shane Hopkins showed strength in 2022, earning four podium finishes, en route to a third-place finish in the standings. Hanford’s Michael Faccinto will be another favorite wheeling the F&F Racing X1 entry, which he drove to his first career winged sprint car victory last July.

A host of other teams will be vying for victory on opening night this Saturday, as the track kicks off the first of 14 point races for the Winged Warriors.

Diamond Springs competitor Dan Jinkerson locked down his second consecutive Anrak Corp. Ltd. Late Model title last season. On the strength of six wins in eight starts, he was able to top Dan Brown Jr. by 34-points at seasons end. The ground pounders are set to contest a total of nine point races this year.

Last season saw Nick Baldwin put together another robust campaign with the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks. The talented driver accumulated five wins and finished among the top-five all but once, on way to his fourth career track championship over Kevin Jinkerson. The Pure Stocks will see 13 total nights of racing.

Wingless sprint cars will grace the red clay on six occasions this season, first of which is Saturday’s championship opener. The unsanctioned event will follow Hunt Magnetos Wingless Tour rules.