Shane Cottle
Jacob Tuttle wheels a wingless sprint car at Placerville Speedway. (D&P Photos)

Placerville Hosting Wing & Non-Wing Sprints On Saturday

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — Winged sprint cars, wingless sprints and more types of open-wheel racing will converge at Placerville Speedway on Saturday for another night of championship auto racing.

First Responders Night at the races will feature the Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Cars, the Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprints, BCRA Lightning Sprints and the Mountain Democrat Mini Trucks.

Watch it LIVE on SPEED SPORT TV affiliate CaliDirt.TV.

“We’ve had two great events to open the season and are looking forward to First Responders Night on Saturday,” said Placerville Speedway Promoter Scott Russell. “We are offering race fans the best of both worlds this weekend with winged and non-winged Sprint Cars, plus our always popular Mini Truck class. Hopefully everyone can join us in the grandstands.”

Shane Golobic opened the Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Car season in victory lane last weekend during the Tribute to Al Hinds. He was followed across the line by Dylan Bloomfield, Landon Brooks, Justin Sanders and Tanner Carrick.

The Joe Hunt Magnetos Wingless Sprint Cars also opened their campaign last week with veteran Shawn Arriaga bringing home the Randy Larson Memorial in Petaluma. Jacob Tuttle, Josh Young, Bradley Terrell and Tony Super rounded out the top-five.

The Hunt Tour also returns for an event in July on the red clay.

Waterford’s Dakota Albright picked up four wins last season with the Bay Cities Racing Association Lightning Sprints at Placerville Speedway. Albright this year, however, will be competing with the Thompson’s Winged Sprint Cars for Spencer Motorsports.

The BCRA Lightning Sprints are keen to make several appearances, both with and without the wings.