Andy Forsberg and his team celebrate his 70th win at Placerville. (Tim Holland Photo)

Forsberg Reaches Milestone 70th Placerville Sprint Car Win

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — Nine-time Placerville Speedway track champion Andy Forsberg went to victory lane on Saturday night after pocketing his 70th career sprint car win at the track.

All four divisions displayed entertaining racing at the event, with fellow winners on the night including a first-time victor in Rod Oliver with the Mountain Democrat Ltd. Late Models, Nick Baldwin with the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks and Mike Miller with the Mountain Democrat Mini Trucks.

The 25-lap Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged 360 Sprint Car feature was all about Forsberg, who turned back the clock and rode the cushion to perfection. The Auburn driver dominated things, much like he has over so many years at the El Dorado County Fairgrounds.

The action behind him was marvelous however, with several drivers going at it and positions changing lap after lap. Jake Morgan looked impressive in the main event and moved into second on lap 11, making the pass on Jodie Robinson, who also looked solid in her Placerville return.

As the race wound down 16-year-old Braden Chiaramonte climbed into second, while Placerville’s own Shane Hopkins battled his way into third. Forsberg took the checkered flag over Chiaramonte, Hopkins, Morgan and Robinson in the top-five.

Feature Finish (25 Laps)

1. 92-Andy Forsberg[1]; 2. 94TH-Braden Chiaramonte[3]; 3. 21-Shane Hopkins[8]; 4. 45-Jake Morgan[5]; 5. 14W-Jodie Robinson[4]; 6. 94-Greg Decaires V[7]; 7. 94R-Corbin Rueschenberg[12]; 8. X1-Michael Faccinto[11]; 9. 9-DJ Freitas[6]; 10. 7C-Tony Gomes[9]; 11. 33T-Jimmy Trulli[10]; 12. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[14]; 13. 5V-Justin Henry[20]; 14. 9L-Luke Hayes[13]; 15. 98-Chris Masters[19]; 16. 83SA-Isaiah Vasquez[2]; 17. 3-Cole Schroeder[17]; 18. 17-Anthony Snow[16]; 19. 24S-Izaak Sharp[15]; 20. 2A-Austin Wood[18]