Tanner Carrick in Ocean Speedway victory lane. (Top Dawg Photo)

Carrick Fends Off Late Challenges For Second Ocean Sprints Win

WATSONVILLE, Calif. — Tanner Carrick made the trip down from Lincoln pay off for the second consecutive Friday, as he claimed victory over a fast-closing Dominic Gorden in the 30-lap Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo finale.

“I could hear Dominic Gorden coming a few times, but it was so hard to leave the bottom because I felt really good there,” Carrick commented afterwards. “It’s been a solid start to the season for us with some wins and consistent finishes. I can’t thank my entire team enough for busting their tails to get these race cars so good.”

Sharing victory lane at Ocean Speedway on Friday night were Cody Burke with the IMCA Modifieds, Joe Gallaher with the Hobby Stocks and first-time winner Thomas Cumming in the Four Banger division.

The Ocean Sprints presented by Taco Bravo main event saw Carrick jump out front after winning the six-lap dash prior to that. Early on, Chase Johnson kept him honest up front until Gorden sliced past to secure second on lap eight.

The 18-year-old found the high line to his liking and relentlessly ripped the lip around quarter-mile. Several caution periods slowed the flow of the contest however, but through it all Carrick remained calm, cool and collected up front. Gorden continued his pursuit and when the white flag waved, he had a run.

Heading into the final corners Gorden blasted to the top, but Carrick was able to beat him to the line by just a car length or so. Gorden had to settle for a runner up result for the second straight Friday, while Campbell’s Bud Kaeding rounded out the podium. Last season’s rookie of the year Caleb Debem finished fourth with Brad Dillard getting a fifth-place result.

Drake Standley, Chase Johnson, Mariah Ede, Rickey Sanders and Orville Burke completed the top 10. 

Feature Finish (30 Laps)

1. 83T-Tanner Carrick[1]; 2. 10-Dominic Gorden[3]; 3. 29-Bud Kaeding[7]; 4. 3D-Caleb Debem[5]; 5. 72S-Bradley Dillard[14]; 6. 5V-Drake Standley[6]; 7. 28-Chase Johnson[2]; 8. 14E-Mariah Ede[13]; 9. 17-Rickey Sanders[8]; 10. OB1-Orville Burke[19]; 11. 25Z-Jason Chisum[18]; 12. 98-Vince Giannotta[20]; 13. 72W-Kurt Nelson[11]; 14. 5R-Ryan Rocha[15]; 15. 72JR-Chris Nelson[16]; 16. 9-Adrianna DeMartini[17]; 17. 25S-Seth Standley[9]; 18. 12J-John Clark[12]; 19. 8-Jeremy Chisum[10]; 20. 3-Kaleb Montgomery[4]