Justyn Cox at Placerville Speedway. (Tim Holland Photo)

Big Trophy Night Goes To Justyn Cox

PLACERVILLE, Calif. — The annual Big Trophy Night at Placerville Speedway saw current SCCT point leader Justyn Cox dominate the feature for his second consecutive victory with the Thompson’s Winged Sprint Cars on Saturday.

Also scooping up wins on Coors Light Big Trophy Night were Matt Micheli with the Anrak Ltd. Late Models, Kevin Jinkerson with the Red Hawk Casino Pure Stocks and Mike Miller in the Mini Truck finale. Miller also wrapped up his second career Truck title at Placerville. 

The 25-lap Thompson’s Family of Dealerships Winged Sprint Car main event began with Cox jumping into the lead. The action was hot and heavy right from the start with several drivers battling it out just behind the leader. The initial eight circuits clicked off caution-free, before a yellow and red in subsequent laps was seen.

On the restart Cox led Sean Becker, Andy Forsberg, Jake Andreotti and Colby Johnson in the top-five. Another slowdown on lap 12 set up a restart that got fans out of their seat, as Forsberg charged around Cox to grab the top-spot. Cox stuck with it though and slid back in front the following corner to reassume the point.

After that, Cox was never seriously challenged en route to accepting the Ron Stahl checkered flag for his 12th career Winged 360 Sprint Car triumph at the track. By doing so he tied Shane Golobic, Andy Gregg, Scooter Lambert and Stephen Allard for 14th on the all-time list.

Forsberg crossed the stripe in third, with 11th starting Tony Gomes battling his way to fourth and Gauge Garcia rounding out the top-five. Ashton Torgerson charged from 14th to sixth, while Johnson, Becker, point leader Michael Faccinto and Ashlyn Rodriguez rounded out the top-10.

Kevin Jinkerson won the pure stock feature while Mike Miller was victorious in mini trucks. 

Feature Finish (25 Laps)

1. 42X-Justyn Cox[2]; 2. 7P-Jake Andreotti[6]; 3. 92-Andy Forsberg[4]; 4. 7C-Tony Gomes[11]; 5. 21X-Gauge Garcia[9]; 6. 88-Ashton Torgerson[14]; 7. 38-Colby Johnson[1]; 8. 35-Sean Becker[5]; 9. X1-Michael Faccinto[10]; 10. 87-Ashlyn Rodriguez[7]; 11. 93-Stephen Ingraham[12]; 12. 73B-Braden Chiaramonte[15]; 13. 34-Justin Henry[17]; 14. 9L-Luke Hayes[19]; 15. 3QC-Michael Pombo[18]; 16. 5H-Josh Wiesz[20]; 17. 83V-Dylan Bloomfield[8]; 18. 45-Jake Morgan[3]; 19. 25-Justin Johnson[13]; 20. 21-Shane Hopkins[16]