Mountain Creek Speedway. (Mountain Creek Speedway Photo)

New Year Of Mountain Creek Action Begins

A new year brings a new opportunity for winning a title and defending one. Racing begins this weekend at Mountain Creek Speedway with the “Opening Bell” Weekend presented by Bell Helmets Pro Shop of Mooresville (N.C.).

Anticipation is growing and excitement is in the air as the track looks the host it’s most exciting season to date. It’s a brand new look and style as Mountain Creek hosts micro sprint racing for the foreseeable future at the “speedway by the creek,” soon to be re-nicknamed the “cage at the creek.”

Flat kart and champ kart racers like Randy Kincaid and Sean Campion will return this year to defend their Champ Kart and Sumo championships. Also expected to return are the McCleary brothers as Maddox McCleary looks to defend his Junior Light championship against brother Jack, who finished third in points.

Action at Mountain Creek can be seen live on SPEED

Predator champion Andy Hudgens, along with Senior Heavy and Medium champion Mekhi Harshaw will be among the drivers to watch. Those are just a handful of flat kart divisions that will take to the track as they chase for a new championship.

Brexton Busch in victory lane. (Whitney McIntosh, Promise View Photography)

On the outlaw kart side, Karter Beattie doubled up with five Box Stock wins and the intermediate championships in 2022. He plans to return for a title defense in both divisions along with selected micro sprint starts.

Brexton Busch has been racing and winning all over the country. Five wins in the class propelled him to the Beginner Box Stock title last year. The son of two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Busch will return again this season looking for another championship.

Dylan Beard came to the Yamaha 450 Outlaw division as a rookie in 2022 but impressed right out of the box. He picked up four wins en route to his first championship at Mountain Creek with plans to return this season.

History will be made at Mountain Creek Speedway this year, as someone will have bragging rights, being the first 600 winner in the track’s 43-year history and crown a 600 micro sprint champion for the first time.