Andrew Daugherty in victory lane. (Allison Campbell, Kara C’s Photography)

New Wave Of Winners At Mountain Creek

Double features were on the docket Sunday at Mountain Creek Speedway. The program was put together to make up one of two rain outs from earlier in the season.

The weekend also marked the debut of 270 Micro Sprints at the speedway by the creek. 

Carson McKee took advantage of an early race restart to take the lead from Gavin Thompson and never looked back in the first Cadet feature.

Caden Outz worked past Thompson for second. In the second Cadet feature, Slate Harrell was the fast qualifier, started on the pole and drove to victory lane. McKee was second with Reece Beamer, third. 

Jackson Darnell, son of former NASCAR Camping World Truck Series driver, Erik went two for two in the Beginner Box Stock division.

Darnell survived some early race incidents to chase down and make a last lap pass on Brexton Busch to take the first win of the day. Will Spencer completed the podium. The second win came much easier for Darnell as he started on the pole and led every lap over Busch and Stetson Swink. 

Zoey Smith capitalized on Karter Beattie spinning not once, but twice while leading the first Box Stock feature of the night. Liam Kane was second while Payton Johnson slipped past Rhylen Watkins on the last lap for third.

The second Box Stock feature saw Spencer Bradshaw pick up his very first win at Mountain Creek Speedway. Bradshaw was followed across the line Karter Beattie and Gavin Marlin. 

It was back-to-back wins for Dylan Beard in the 450 Yamaha Outlaw division. Beard led wire-to-wire in the first feature of the night while Michael Hubert played catch up from dead last. Hubert would run out of time before the checkered, finishing one spot short with Tyler Conover, third. Conover would chase Beard for the entire second feature with Sam Miller completing the podium. 

270 micro sprints made their debut at Mountain Creek Speedway this past weekend. Andrew Daugherty started on the pole by effort of a heat race win and led every lap to become the first micro sprint winner in the 43 year history of the track. Matt Thompson had a spirited battle with Andy Yocco. They finished second and third respectively.