Darin Nadia

Naida & Busch Star At Mountain Creek

CATAWBA, N.C. — Darin Naida and Brexton Busch were the big winners during Opening Bell Weekend at Mountain Creek Speedway.

Naida claimed the 600 micro sprint feature, guiding his CB Industries No. 87 through the field in the closing laps

Neal Allison took the early lead, but was challenged by NASCAR Truck Series champion Sheldon Creed during the final third of the race. But as the laps dwindled, Naida passed Creed for second and took the lead from Allison with three laps remaining. Creed finished second with midget superstar Cannon McIntosh taking third.

The day started with the Cadets on the track with Spencer Bickling picking up the win over pole sitter Wyatt Linker, who finished, second and Maverick Bradshaw, third. The Cadet B Feature was won by Mackenna Wilson. 

Busch made it a clean sweep in both the Beginner Box Stock and Box Stock division. Starting from 11th, Busch stayed out of trouble and avoided incidents including leaders Slate Harrel and Will Spencer making contact and Carson Slade spinning off the bumper of Carson Hammill.

With five to go, the leaders went three wide with leader, Caden Outz high, Busch went low with Hammill in the middle for second. Busch would go from third to first, leading the remaining laps for the win. Hammill was second with Eddie Massencup third. 

In the Box Stock A-Main, Zoey Smith led early with Chase DeMarco, Karter Beattie and Liam Kane in tow. Kane grabbed the lead on lap, seven and appeared to be in command until a late caution with three to go allowed DeMarco and Brooklyn Newman, daughter of Ryan Newman to slip past.

A caution with two laps left set up a green-white-checkered finish. On the restart, Newman slipped past Demarco for the lead. Coming to the checkered Demarco and Newman made contact spinning in front of Busch, who dove low to dash across the line with the win. John Marshall Pursley and Liam Kane completed the podium.

Outlaw kart ace Mike Wheeler picked up the win in the Yamaha 450 Outlaw division. C.J. Sweatt was second, followed by Michael Hubert in third. 

Ryder Hughart was the winner in the Intermediate division while the 600 Restricted division was won by Carson Smith. Evan McReynolds topped everyone on the Junior Wing A Main taking the win over Gavin Marlin and Nicholas Sluss.