20240211090538 Img 4064
Gus Dean (57) races past Derek Griffith Sunday night at New Smyrna Speedway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

Gus Dean Conquers New Smyrna

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. — Veteran stock car driver Gus Dean took top honors in Sunday night’s David Rogers Memorial super late model race during the World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing at New Smyrna Speedway.

Dean started second and quickly took the lead from Derek Griffith en route to winning the 35-lap main event and securing his first World Series triumph.

Teenager Brent Crews raced from fifth starting spot to finish second, while Giovanni Ruggiero, Austin Nason and Griffith rounded out the top five.

Dawson Sutton picked up his second pro late model victory in as many nights, beating Hunter Wright to the checkered flag.

Wayne Parker (modifieds), Eugene Tumminello (E-Mods) and Lee Sharpsteen (602 Tour Modifieds) also earned victories.

The finish:

Gus Dean, Brent Crews, Giovanni Ruggiero, Austin Nason, Derek Griffith, Jett Noland, Conner Jones, Derek Kraus, William Sawaich, Brad May, Kris Wright, Ty Fredrickson, John Bolen, Dawson Sutton, Billy VanMeter, Nicholas Naugle, Albert Francis, Mitch Haver, Cole Butcher, Tommmy Catalano, Brandon Turbush, Danny Knoll Jr., Derrick Kelley, Amy Catalano, Cody Strickler, Jake Finch, Bubba Pollard, Kyle Steckly, Gabe Sommers, Joe Lawrence, Steve Weaver, James Lynch, Hunter Wright, David Weaver, Patrick Thomas, Matt Craig, Anthony Sergi, Treyten Lapcevich, Bobby Good, Michael Hinde, Jeff Choquette.