Brexton Busch in victory lane. (Whitney McIntosh, Promise View Photography)

Brexton Busch Soars To Mountain Creek Victory

The second annual Chad Bush Clash presented by Martin Truex Jr. Motorsports and Palmetto Wildlife Extractors at Mountain Creek (N.C.) Speedway was also the final points racing weekend to decide the division champions.

Brexton Busch earned the victory and the track championship in dominating fashion on Sunday in the Beginner Box Stock feature, after notching the fast qualifying time and heat race early on in the event. 

Jackson Darnell was second with Will Spencer in third. 

On the strength of placing second quickest in qualifying and winning his heat, Rhylen Watkins started on the outside pole and took an early lead with Payton Johnson in a close second. Johnson was turned around and eventually tipped over coming back to a late race restart. Wesley Sweatman inherited second but didn’t have enough as Watkins took his first ever feature win. Gavin Marlin finished third. Karter Beattie won the division championship.

Wyatt Linker was the big winner in the Cadet division. Linker was pressured near races end by Maverick Bradshaw and Brylon Earnhardt, who finished third. Earnhardt earned enough points to tie Caden Outz for the championship, but came up short when a single win earlier this season became the tie breaker for Outz. 

The action was nonstop in the Yamaha 450 Outlaw A-main. By luck of inverting the top eight, Kyle Beattie and Michael Hubert started from the fourth row and meticulously worked their way through traffic to second and third, chasing leader, Sam Miller.

Miller caught the inside berm with 11 laps to go and spun while leading. The restart set up a Hubert and Beattie battle for the lead. On the final lap Hubert caught lapped traffic.

In one final attempt, Beattie over drove turn three making contact with Hubert. Both drivers gathered it back up with Hubert just nipping Beattie at the line to win over Beattie. Dylan Beard finished third to lock up the season championship.