Davenport Speedway Logo

Zifko Tops Davenport Enduro

DAVENPORT, Iowa — The 45th annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic debuted at Davenport Speedway Friday night. This is the first time the Yankee has been held at the Davenport track.

The finale of the evening was a one hundred and fifty lap Enduro. The race quickly boiled down to a battle between Rick Zifko of Aurora, Illinois and Brody Rivest of Wisconsin. The two drivers swapped the lead several times, including in the final 10 laps.

Rivest passed Zifko to lead laps 146 and 147. Rick returned the favor, leading the final three laps for the win. Nate Coopman of Minnesota finished third, two laps down. Joe Zrostlik and Nolan Morrow led the local contingent, finishing fourth and fifth, respectively.

Justin Kay led all thirty laps of the IMCA Late Model feature. Kay was challenged throughout the race by Andy Nezworski and Matt Ryan. Ryan finished in the second position with Nezworski taking third. Joel Callahan and Jacob Waterman rounded out the top five. Late Model heat race wins went to Ryan, Nezworski, Chuck Hanna, and Tommy Elston.

Dallon and Damon Murty dominated the IMCA Stock Car feature. The pair were first and second after lap one and never looked back. Dustin Vis finished a distant third, eight seconds back. Late Model drivers Jesse Sobbing and Justin Kay finished fourth and fifth.