Garet Williamson after winning at Huset's Speedway. (Tylan Porath Photo)

Williamson, Rabenberg Earn First Huset’s Triumphs

BRANDON, S.D. — Garet Williamson and Tyler Rabenberg both became first-time winners at Huset’s Speedway on Sunday night before Mother Nature claimed the final feature of the evening during Myrl & Roy’s Paving Night.

A downpour arrived just as the Tri-State Late Models main event drivers were preparing to take the track for the Ben Nothdurft Memorial presented by Bargain Barn Tire Center and Tire Motive.

410 Outlaw Sprint Cars

The two features that were completed showcased new winners with Williamson leading the final 15 laps of the 25-lap Buffalo Wild Wings Northern Outlaw Sprint Association and Cressman Sanitation 410 Outlaw Sprint Cars A Main for his first career triumph at the track.

Jade Hastings led the first 10 laps before a hiccup in turns three and four cost him a pair of positions while he was in heavy traffic. Hastings hit a rut and jumped the cushion, dropping him to third. Williamson inherited the lead and Dusty Zomer powered into second place in turn four.

Hastings tucked in right behind Zomer, who had to check up to avoid a slowing lapped driver in turn one. Hastings got into the back of Zomer, spinning them both. Williamson led the remainder of the race and finished ahead of Carson McCarl by 0.730 seconds. Kasey Kahne, Chase Randall and Austin McCarl rounded out the top five, respectively.

Sprint Car Series

Rabenberg held onto the lead throughout a caution-plagued Wyffels Hybrids RaceSaver Sprint Car Series main event for his first career win at Huset’s Speedway.

A red flag on the start of the race was followed by five cautions during the 20-lap main event. While the cautions erased sizable leads for Rabenberg, he quickly built a comfortable advantage at each opportunity en route to the victory by 2.595 seconds.

Trevor Serbus charged from 11th to second with Dusty Ballenger placing third. Trefer Waller was fourth and Luke Nellis ended fifth.

Late Models

The Tri-State Late Models got through five rounds of qualifying – with Tad Pospisil, Cole Searing, Cade Richards, Blair Nothdurft and Chuck Swenson each setting quick time – five heat races – won by Pospisil, Searing, Cody Martin, Nothdurft and Swenson – and two B Mains – claimed by Shane DeMey and Charlie Olsen – to set the stage for the 40-lap main event. Swenson was slated to start from the pole position.