Davenport Speedway Logo

Werner Doubles Up At Davenport

DAVENPORT, Iowa — Mother Nature finally gave Davenport Speedway an opening and Matt Werner took full advantage, winning two IMCA Modified features Friday evening.

The first modified race of the doubleheader was a make up from last week’s rain out.  Werner led all 20 laps for the victory while Mitch Morris ran in second the entire race. Spencer Diercks started several rows back and made it up to third by lap seven. He would not advance further. Chris Zogg and Travis Denning rounded out the top five.

The finale was a completely different story. Werner started outside the sixth row. After Jeff Larson and Matt Stein each took a turn at the front, Werner used the bottom groove to grab the lead on lap 16 and never looked back for his second win of the night. Zogg was second after starting ninth. Stein and Larson put on a great show for the lead, but finished third and fourth respectively. Diercks completed the first five.

 Justin Kay picked up the Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models victory while Ben Chapman went flag to flag in the IMCA SportMod division. Jeff Struck Jr. scored his first Koehler Electric Street Stock victory of the season. Struck jumped from third to first on the opening lap and stayed in front to the checkers. Jesse

Cyle Hawkins won in QCjeeps.com Sport Compact action.

IMCA Late Models Results:

Feature No. 1: 1. Matt Werner; 2. Chris Zogg; 3. Matt Stein; 4. Jeff Larson; 5. Spencer Diercks; 6. Charlie Mohr; 7. Jeremy Gustaf; 8. Mitch Morris; 9. Craig Crawford; 10. Jaden Fryer; 11. Kyle Montgomery; 12. Austin Blume; 13. Rob Dominacki; 14. Jake Whittington; 15. Stephan Kammerer; 16. Travis Denning; 17. Brandon Durbin; 18. Derek Wilson; 19. Steve Gustaf Sr.; 20. Alex Vervynck; (3-DNS)

Feature No. 2: 1. Justin Kay; 2. Matt Ryan; 3. Jake Waterman; 4. Andy Nezworski; 5. Chuck Hanna; 6. Fred Remley; 7. Joel Callahan; 8. Gage Neal; 9. Dustin Schram; 10. Bryan Moreland; 11. Mack Mulvany; 12. Chris Lawrence; 13. Colton Leal; 14. Tim Marsden; 15. Mike Guldenpefennig; 16. Keith Haislip; 17. Mike Goben

error: Content is protected !!