Davenport Speedway Logo

Ryan Rules Davenport Late Models

DAVENPORT, Iowa — If the first four races are an indication, it will be an interesting year at Davenport Speedway.

Through the first four events, there have been four different winners in the IMCA Modifieds and IMCA Late Models. On the other hand, SportMods and Street Stocks each have a three-time winner in four races.

Matt Ryan became the latest feature winner in the Outhouse and Storage to Go Container Rentals IMCA Late Models. Ryan started sixth and slowly made his way to the front. On lap twenty, early race leader Nick Marolf pulled off the racetrack and into the pit area. Ryan pulled away from the field in the final laps for his first Davenport win of 2024.

Josh Foster had an impressive run to finish second with Chuck Hanna taking third. Fourth place went to Andy Nezworski. Mitch Morris drove from thirteenth starting spot to round out the top five. Foster, Marolf and Ryan were heat race winners.

Matt Werner became the fourth different Wangelin’s Auto IMCA Modified feature winner of the season. Werner started the 20-lap main in the sixth row and leap-frogged his way to second by lap five. On lap seven, Matt got inside of race leader Jason Pershy and grabbed the lead. Once in front, Werner would not be touched, as he headed to Competitive Concrete Victory Lane.

Chris Zogg drove from mid-pack to finish second. Spencer Diercks finished third, ahead of Pershy and Tony VonDresky.

The D&K Home Products IMCA SportMod feature went to Logan Veloz for the third time this season. Veloz needed all 15 laps to secure win number three. Dakota Cole had led laps two through 13, when a caution flag set up a green-white-checkered finish.

Cole had a .01 second lead over Veloz at the white flag. Veloz then took the advantage and drove to victory. Cole finished a close second, with Justin Veloz taking third. Josh Starr and Ryan Walker were fourth and fifth, respectively. 

Tony VonDresky, doing double duty, captured his third straight Koehler Electric Outlaw Street Stock win. Tony wasted no time, racing from seventh to the lead in just two laps.

Tony kept the car smooth and straight, finishing nearly three seconds ahead of second-place Jesse Owen. Zach Zuberbrier finished third. Jake Lund made a late race charge to fourth with Landen Chrestensen completing the first five.

Daniel Wauters made it back-to-back wins in the Theisen’s IMCA Hobby Stock class. Wauters benefited from a late race caution that sent the two race leaders to the tail. Wauters was able to drive away from Jared Miller on the restart for the win. Miller held on for second with Sheldon Hunter, Justin Morhardt, and Keith Lilly finishing third through fifth, in that order.

Jake Benischek led all ten laps of the Fred’s Towing & Cantrell’s Towing 4-Cylinder feature for his first Davenport win of the season.