Monday Madness: 122 Cars At Independence

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa — Independence Motor Speedway scheduled four Monday races this year on the assumption if no other track is racing then cars will show up.

The first Monday race was May 8, which became the season opener following four rainouts. It drew 118 cars, an impressive turnout for a Monday.

Last night was the second of the four and 122 were in the pits.  

It seems the “Monday Theory” is working.

Five IMCA sanctioned divisions with modifieds, sport mods, and stock cars each paying $1,000 to win comprised the field of drivers.

Modifieds brought 33 cars to be the largest division and plenty of drivers were candidates for the $1,000.

Ryan Duhme went right to the top and used the topside to lead nine laps before Jerry King drove under him to become the leader.

King built a multi-car length lead but a late yellow created a two-lap race for the win. King held off the competition for the checkers with Jed Freiburger and Jeff Aikey filling the podium.

The stock car main had their third leader by lap seven when Damon Murty make the top of turn two work to pass Kaden Reynolds. Normally once Murty is in front the winner is decided.

It was looking as if the usual may not happen as Kaden Reynolds closed on Murty on the topside, but a miscue ended the potential.

Reynolds slid off turn three and came back onto the track in time to maintain second but Murty was gone. Murty won the $1,000 with Reynolds second ahead of Tom Schmitt.

Northern sport mod driver Taylor Kuehl redrew the pole and ran 20 flawless laps to win the $1,000. One yellow led to a quarter lap of pressure before she drove away from the pack.

Tony Olson and Shane Paris were next across the line.

Hobby stock action had Tyler Ball take the lead from the start and stay in that spot for the entire race.  Ball had several yellows to slow his pace but Jacob Floyd couldn’t pressure Ball and was second over Benji Irvin.

Sport compacts saw Lukas Rick take the lead on the frontstretch on lap four and hold off 8th starting Jake Benischek and Stephen Randall for the win