Kossuth County Speedway Logo

Mills Leads The Way At Kossuth County

ALGONA, Iowa — Kossuth County Speedway is a longtime Thursday track that offers five IMCA-sanctioned divisions plus cruisers. Last night the outlaw mini mods were included as part of a four-track tour.

The four-tenths-mile track once had the option from IMCA to move to Saturday but opted to stay with Thursday.

Jeremy Mills took the lead on the lower part of the backstretch on lap four and was in charge the remaining laps to win the modified main. Cody Knecht finished second and Todd Stinehart was third.

Stock cars had McCain Jennings use the high line in turn four on lap ten to pass Wayne Landheer, the leader for nine laps. Jennings had some pressure from Donavon Smith for several laps but held on to win over Smith and Landheer.

Northern sport mod action showed Richard Fish leading a lap until Jarett Franzen used the low line into turn three.  Franzen opened a significant lead but Mathew Looft closed the gap and made the top shelf work and took the lead in turn four.

Looft pulled away and Franzen was second over Alec Fett.

Cody Hubbell was part of a three wide opening lap in hobby stocks action and was first to the line. Chris Klug used turn four’s low line to take over on lap three and kept the honor to earn the win.  

Hubbell was second while Brandon Nielsen was third.

Outlaw mini mods were completely dominated by Matthew Grove with a flag-to-flag run. Ben Kraus was second and Nathan Kilwine took third.

After the checkers Grove broke his chain, an opportune time for that to happen.

Sport compacts decided the winner on the last lap. Brooke Osler led from the start but Lucas Parsons drew alongside as the white flag was shown. The pair ran the final lap side by side and Parsons won the race to the line.

Zach and Brody Vader won the cruiser main.