Unnamed (24)

Matt Ryan Passes Davenport Foes

DAVENPORT, Iowa — Racers were competing for points and victories Friday night as Davenport Speedway prepares to enter the summer stretch of races.

Friday saw four repeat winners and two drivers get their first win of the season.

Matt Ryan was in the right place at the right time for his first Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Model win in 2023. Justin Kay was leading with two laps to go when a flat tire ended his night and brought out the caution flag. On the restart, Ryan pulled away from Chuck Hanna to secure the victory.

Hanna who led the first 15 laps of the race, finished second. He was followed by Andy Nezworski, Nathan Balensiefen, and Joe Beal, in that order. Late Model heat race wins went to Ryan, Fred Remley, and Mack Mulvany.

Chris Zogg captured his third Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature of the season, despite a rash of caution flags that kept scrambling the field. Zogg wrestled the lead from Mitch Morris on lap fifteen and started to pull away.

Dustin Smith kept his car in the top three all race long before settling for second. Travis Denning worked his way from deep in the field to take third. Charlie Mohr recovered from an early race incident to finish fourth. Eric Barnes took fifth. 

Logan Veloz scored his second Matzen Trucking IMCA SportMod win of the season. Veloz started eleventh and wasted no time getting to the lead on the second lap. Justin Veloz started 18th and also worked quickly through the pack. Justin would have to settle for a distant second as he finished 2.538 seconds behind the leader. Ben Chapman in a borrowed car took third. David Engelkens and Kevin Goben were fourth and fifth, respectively.

Jeff Struck Jr. powered his way to a victory in the Koehler Electric Street Stocks. Struck started eighth and took the lead on lap six. Jeff had a full straightaway lead on the field at the checkers. Rob Henry beat out Robert Cottom for the second spot. Jake Lund and Nick Hixson rounded out the top five.

Joe Zrostlik dominated the Kunes Nissan IMCA Stock Car main. Zrostlik jumped out to an early lead and led all fifteen laps for the win. Justin Kay closed in on Zrostlik, but was unable to contend for the lead. Stan O’Brien finished a distant third followed by Perry Gellerstedt and Keegan Wells.

Cyle Hawkins chalked up win number six in QCjeeps.com Sport Compact action. Cyle started fifth and led all twelve laps of the feature. Shawn McDermott finished second while Roy Schmidt edged out Josh Starr for third. Jason Rhoads completed the top five.