Unnamed (24)

Davenport Title Comes Down To Tiebreaker

DAVENPORT, Iowa — There were two races at Davenport Speedway on Friday night. One was the weekly racing season championship. The other was to get the racing program completed before the approaching storm arrived. 

The Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models had the closest points battle going into tonight’s action. With the final feature in the books, it is still the closest points battle. Andy Nezworski and Justin Kay came into the final race tied in points.

Justin scored a win in his heat race. Nezworski took third in his heat. In the feature, the roles were reversed with Andy taking the win. The two drivers are again tied in points. The championship will be determined by tiebreakers in accordance with IMCA rules.

Matt Ryan finished second in the feature. Chuck Hanna and Jacob Waterman rounded out the top five.

Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modifieds saw Matt Werner cap off his championship season with his fifth feature win of the year. The track title is his first Modified crown at Davenport. Matt also claimed the Street Stock title in 2010.

Travis Denning was best of the rest in the feature. Matt Stein finished third, followed by Stephan Kammerer and Charlie Mohr.

IMCA SportMod point leader Ben Chapman put his pole starting position to good use. Chapman led all fifteen laps on his way to feature win number four on the year. The championship was his third. Kevin Goben raced his way to a second-place finish. 

Jeff Struck Jr. sealed his third Koehler Electric Street Stock track championship with his seventh feature win of the year. Tony VonDresky hounded Struck before finishing second. 

Cyle Hawkins won both the heat and feature in QCjeeps.com Sport Compacts. But it was Shawn McDermott taking his second track title. McDermott finished second in the feature, followed by Brett Timmerman.

Guest class for the evening was the Mini Late Models. Kyle Pearson won their feature.