Busy Night At Crawford County

DENISON, Iowa — The big three-eighths-mile oval that is Crawford County Speedway hosted their regular six IMCA-sanctioned divisions plus vintage full body stock cars on Friday night.  

The RaceSaver main belonged to Casey Friedrichsen after he rocketed out of turn on the first lap and quickly built a big lead.

A yellow with three laps remaining gave Andrew Sullivan an opportunity to challenge Friedrichsen but instead he dueled with Mike Houseman Jr. for second. Sullivan finished second ahead of Houseman but well behind Friedrichsen.

Modified action started with a sharp move by third-starting Matt Bonine by using the bottom in turn four since the front row slid up the track as the initial green flag waved.

Bonine built a large lead but a yellow with two laps remaining setup a last chance for Shane Demey from his runner-up slot.

Demey made for an exciting finish with turn four sliders not quite getting the job done and he followed Bonine at the finish with Alex Reetz third.

The stock cars provided their share of the drama. Mike Nichols got alongside leader Tyson Partridge on the backstretch, moved Partridge up the track, and took the lead out of turn four.

It appeared Nichols was going to win but he went to the infield with two laps left

That set up a dramatic finish with Mike Vondrak and Jake Sachau side by side heading for the finish.

Vondrak won by a couple feet with Dachau and Brian Blessing following.

Northern sport mods had three leaders with Cody Olsen using the bottom of turn four to be the third to lead. Olsen kept the lead for the remaining laps to win over Josh Most and Kyle Tanner.

Michael Steier led the hobby stock main for four laps until Alec Stapleton used the low line in turn four to take over on lap five. Stapleton led the remaining laps while Steier and Travis Fink had a spirited race for second.

Fink prevailed and followed Stapleton across the line with Steier third.

Todd Jansonius won the vintage main and the sport compact honors went to Shannon Mahlberg by breaking away from five cars racing together for the first five laps.