Can Am

Willix Claims Can Am Summer Starter

LA FARGEVILLE, N.Y. — It had been 26 years since the Summer Starter had been on the schedule for the Whitesboro Plowshop DIRTCar 358 Modifieds at Can Am Speedway.

On Friday, it came back with a bang as 22 small blocks took the green flag for the 25-lap event.

Rookie Remington Hamm showed the way over Jack Meeks, Shaun Shaw, Lance Willix and Ryan Bartlett. All five drivers put on a great show for the fans but Hamm was the fastest car of everyone, as he held a comfortable lead over the veterans behind him.

Shaw would move to second after a battle with Meeks, then set sail after Hamm for the lead. On lap 13 it all came to an end as fuel pump issues slowed any chance of Hamm going to victory lane as the yellow flag flew.

When the green came out veteran Willix was the new leader as he began to author a dominant performance. Willix would draw away from the field, however behind him Billy Dunn and Tim Fuller were on the move after charging from mid-pack. Both drivers got to third and fourth with seven laps to go as they tried to catch second-place runner Bartlett.

Willix was on cruise control until lap 21 when Derek Webb slowed on the backstretch, bringing out the caution. Another yellow for Jordan Kelly on lap 22 slowed the race as Dunn and Fuller both got by Bartlett for second and third, setting up a classic Can Am finish.

When the green flew for the final time Dunn pulled even with Willix and looked to have the faster lane on the outside. Willix was committed to the bottom and stayed with Dunn at the white flag as Fuller faded at the end in third. The top two raced side-by-side into turns three and four.

Coming to the line, Willix was able to power ahead by a car length to score the popular win in the return of the Summer Starter. Dunn scored second over Fuller and Bartlett, while Jordan McCreadie made a late race charge to get to fifth at the checkered flag.

Other feature winners were: Mike Fowler in DIRTcar Sportsman, Andrew Hennessy with 602 crate sprint cars, Anthony St. Mary Jr. in thundercar, Logan Brown in limited sportsman and Aaron Pugh in Dirt Modified Nostalgia Tour. 

Feature Finish (25 Laps)

1. 31-Lance Willix[10]; 2. 49-Billy Dunn[11]; 3. 19-Tim Fuller[12]; 4. 39-Ryan Bartlett[8]; 5. 28-Jordan McCreadie[14]; 6. 7S-Shaun Shaw[7]; 7. 45R-Preston Forbes[9]; 8. 3M-Franklin Mackin[2]; 9. 1-Jack Meeks[6]; 10. 23-Cameron Black[1]; 11. 74-Lucas Fuller[16]; 12. 18W-Scott Webb[18]; 13. 27W-Nick Webb[17]; 14. 36B-Dan Beachard[13]; 15. 21R-RJ Tresidder[5]; 16. 21-Andrew Howard[19]; 17. (DNF) 24-Jordan Kelly[22]; 18. (DNF) 66W-Derek Webb[20]; 19. (DNF) 57H-Remington Hamm[3]; 20. (DNF) 9-Tyler Meeks[4]; 21. (DNF) 26-Michael Mandigo[21]; 22. (DNS) 6-Brian Hudson