Brockville Ontario Speedway Logo

Wheeler Leads List Of New Brockville Winners

BROCKVILLE, Ont. — The DIRTCar 358 Modifieds kicked of the first of two Sail Panel series races at Brockville Ontario Speedway, with the winner of the series getting a guaranteed spot into the Outlaw 200 at the Fulton Speedway.

Cornwall invader Corey Wheeler took advantage of a front row starting spot as he held the lead early over Lee Ladouceur, William Racine, Steve Bernier and Ryan Arbuthnot.

The topside of the speedway proved to be fast and Wheeler led the charge as he pulled away from a quality field on this night. The caution flew on lap five as Matt Billings slowed with a problem in his return to the Modified ranks, but would be done early.

On the restart Racine would stay with Wheeler, but the veteran was not phased as he once again pulled away on the top side of the track, leaving Racine to run second with Bernier third. Drivers started to settle into a groove which was good for Wheeler, who built up a solid lead leaving many to wonder if he could be beat as Racine, Bernier, Johnathon Ferguson and Arbuthnot all tried to keep pace.

With 10 laps to go Jarrett Herbison slowed with a problem in turn three, bringing out the caution flag. He would finish 11th at the checkered flag.

On the final restart Wheeler would once again fend off Racine and pull away to score his first win of the season and third ever modified win at Brockville. Racine crossed the finish line in second over opening day winner Bernier, Arbuthnot and Chris Raabe.

Shane Stearns won the DIRTcar Sportsman feature while Josh Verne Jr. won the 20-lap Surprenant Truck Shop Crate Sprints feature.

It was all Pete Stapper in Eastern Ontario Vintage Stock Car Club (50/60) competition, while Ian Gordon won the Eastern Ontario Vintage Stock Car Club (70/80) feature.

Novice Sportsman action was won by Blake Smith. The 30-lap street stock feature was won by Jonathan Galipeau.

Feature Finish (30 Laps)

COREY WHEELER, William Racine, Steve Bernier, Ryan Arbuthnot, Chris Raabe, Johnathon Ferguson, Kyle Dingwall, Lee Ladouceur, Tristan Draper, Gage Morin, Jarrett Herbison, Kalen Draper, Chris Ferguson, Gavin MacFarlane, Dylan Evoy, Terry McClelland, Matt Billings