Img 9970 2
Jason Corliss captured his third straight late model championship at Thunder Road Speedbowl in Barre, Vt., on Friday. (Alan Ward Photo)

Pelkey Dominates, Corliss Three-Peats At Thunder Road

BARRE, Tv. – Christopher Pelkey dominated Friday’s Efficiency Vermont Championship night at Thunder Road Speedbowl for his third late model win of the year.

Pelkey started from the pole and led all 62 laps of the season finale main event.

Jason Corliss, meanwhile, secured his third straight late model track title at Thunder Road with his 10th-place finish.

The feat puts Corliss only the third driver to three-peat in the Thunder Road’s 62-year history. 

He joins Chuck Beede (1992-94) and Derrick O’Donnell (2013-15) as drivers winning three headline division championships in a row.

Brendan Moodie and Tyler Cahoon finished on the podium of the late model event.

Mike Billado won the flying tigers feature from the outside pole. Mike Martin, meanwhile, captured the division’s track title with his fifth-place finish.

Kyle MacAskill triumphed in the street stock main event while 14-year-old Kaiden Fisher took home the street stock title with 11th-place finish.

Luke Peters and Jeffrey Martin placed on the podium.

Sixteenth-starting Cody Hodge of Orleans became the seventh first-time winner of the year in the road warrior main event.

Thunder Road concludes its season with a three-day weekend Friday, Oct. 1 to Sunday, Oct. 3. 

The event features the Pro All Stars Series, street stocks, PASS modifieds, North East Mini Stock Tour, and Honey Badger Street Stock Series.

error: Content is protected !!