Freedom Motorsports Park Logo

Dylan Cecce Is Freedom Flier

ARCADE, N.Y. — It was a picture-perfect weather evening for the season ppener at Freedom Motorsports Park, headlined by the Ron Baker Memorial for the super late models.

Jason Genco and Dylan Cecce brought the field to green for the 30-lap feature, but Genco spun and collected several cars on a second attempt to start the race.  After the restart, Cecce pulled away from Kyle Bedell with Nick Eck in third. Ryan Scott and Doug Eck both had mechanical issues and dropped to the infield as Cecce extended his lead and started putting cars a lap down. 

As the race continued, Cecce picked his way through traffic while Nick Eck tried to stave off challenges from Andy Boozel and Logan Jaquay.  

Josh WIlcox grabbed the early lead at the start of the 20-lap RUSH Pro Mod feature but on lap three, a multi-car tangle brought out a red flag, sending Zain Harvey to the pits and damaging the rides of Tyler Oakes, Richard Hemphill, Steve Watson, Garrett Miller, and Ian Digolier. 

On the restart, Wilcox built a lead over Josh Canfield and Bill Holmes as Al Brewer and John Woodward battled for fourth. At the halfway point, Wilcox had a straightaway lead over Holmes, while J.D. Chamberlain raced Brewer for third. Wilcox was able to work through lapped traffic and took a commanding win over Holmes and Brewer, with Canfield coming back to nip Chamberain at the line for fourth.

The 15-lap RUSH Stock Car feature saw a good lead battle between Cole Strickland and Kaden Michael for the race lead.  That duo pulled away from Camron Kramer and Cody Rickard as the race progressed into its second half, and Michael made numerous attempts to pass for the lead.  Strickland was up to the task and held off Michael for the win, with Kramer, Rickard, and Raiddan Wilson completing the top five.
A great race between Wesley Houghtaling and Preston Cobb broke out at the beginning of the 15-lap Mini Stock feature, with Houghtaling holding off Cobb as James Guyton grabbed the third from Dante Mancuso. 

In the final few laps, Houghtaling was able to pull out a few car lengths on Cobb and held the margin to the finish. Cobb had to settle for second, followed by Guyton, Mancuso, and Dennis Harrison.

The Mini Late Model feature was led at the start by Cameron Sherwood, but Nate Koson was able to grab the top spot on lap two.  Koson pulled away from a battle between Jessy and Rick Isador and took the comfortable win, with Rick beating Jessy for the second spot.  Josh Outman and Cameron Sherwood rounded out the top five.

Khloe Griffin made the pass on Chase Tidd on lap two of the Bandit feature and cruised home with the win, followed by Addy Chamberlain and Tidd.