Draper Claims First Feature At Cornwall

CORNWALL, Ont. — Tristan Draper made moves with two laps to go in JLB Heating and Cooling 258-Modified race to claim his first feature win at Cornwall Motor Speedway. 

He took the lead in the 35-lap feature over Corey Wheeler and Carey Terrance early on. But with the leaders in heavy traffic, Terrance used the top to pass Wheeler and Draper on the same lap with 13 completed. 

Terrance remained in front even with some yellow flags, but it set up an exciting end of the race as Draper was able to reclaim the lead with two laps to go. 

In the 25-lap Next Level Home Improvement Sportsman, Gabriel Cyr was the early leader on William Racine as both drivers pulled away from the field as Pecore was running third. The leaders got into heavy traffic as Racine took the high lane to take the lead on lap 16. Racine never looked back in the caution-free event and grabbed a first feature in Cornwall this season over Cyr and Pecore.

The Alexandria Home Hardware Pro-Stock was the first feature of the evening as Kevin Fetterly Jr took the lead in front of Dan Desnoyers and Rock Aubin. Fetterly was running strong in front as Jocelyn Roy jumped to third with five laps in the books.

Fetterly pulling away from the field with Roy in second and Marc Lalonde completing the podium with 15 laps done. Roy started to put some pressure and took the lead on lap 19. Roy went to win the event, which was a first one in Cornwall for him.

Ian Bressette led the full 20 laps in the Novice Sportsman Fun Zone Inflatables as he led off Matthew Prunner.

Bressette captured a first win in the division.

Travis Lamarche was the leader in the Ricks Ranch Mini-Stock 20-lap feature with Pierre Picard and Brandon MacMillan running in the top three. A lap nine restart was profitable for Picard as he took over the lead from Lamarche. While Picard pulled away James Clarke took second and with Antoine Dumouchel moving in third.

A good battle for the lead brewed between Picard and Clarke in the final laps as Picard was the winner, his second win in a row.

358 Modified Feature Results (35 Laps)

1.17-Tristan Draper[3]; 2. 66X-Carey Terrance[4]; 3. 47S-Corey Wheeler[5]; 4. 44-Johnathon Ferguson[7]; 5. 66-Kyle Dingwall[17]; 6. 18J-Louis Jackson Jr[8]; 7. 40-Gilles Godard[9]; 8. 77E-Ryan Stabler[12]; 9. 13-Kevin Hamel[6]; 10. 23-Joey Ladouceur[14]; 11. 151KB-Brian McDonald[11]; 12. 88-Lee Ladouceur[10]; 13. 15B-Brianna Ladouceur[1]; 14. 31-Tommy Jock Jr[13]; 15. 18-Kalen Draper[18]; 16. SS3-Sandy MacFarlane[16]; 17. 17M-Gavin MacFarlane[19]; 18. 08-Chris Ferguson[15]; 19. M16-Gage Morin[2]