2021 Stafford 05 07 Michael Christopher Jr Vl Posed Track Photo
Michael Christopher Jr. in victory lane at Stafford Speedway Friday night.

Christopher Leads Stafford Weekly Winners

STAFFORD SPRINGS, Conn. – Stafford Speedway hosted its first scheduled Friday night racing program of the season on Friday, with Michael Christopher outdueling Keith Rocco to win the SK Modified headliner.

In the 40-lap SK Modified feature, Mikey Flynn led the field to the green, but Christopher took the lead on the first lap before the caution came out for a multi car incident in turn two with one lap complete.

Christopher took the lead on the restart with Flynn in second and Todd Owen in third. Owen worked his way by Flynn on lap five to take over second with Bryan Narducci in fourth and Tyler Hines and Chase Dowling side by side for fifth with Keith Rocco in seventh.

The caution flag flew with nine laps complete for Doug Meservey Jr., who did a half spin through the frontstretch infield.

Owen took a look to the high and low side of Christopher on the restart, but Christopher was able to maintain the lead. Rocco came up to third with Hines side by side with Flynn for fourth. Hines took the place on lap 12 while Stephen Kopcik took fifth on lap 13.

Up front, Rocco got around Owen to take over second and he began to set his sights on Christopher for the lead. 

At the halfway point of the race, Christopher still held the lead with Rocco right on his bumper. Owen was third followed by Hines and Kopcik. Noah Korner was up to sixth, followed by David Arute, Ronnie Williams, Andrew Molleur, Dowling, and Tyler Leary. 

Hines got around Owen for third place on lap 31 while Rocco was still giving chase to Christopher for the race lead and Kopcik was still running fifth. 

Rocco couldn’t get close enough to Christopher to make a move for the lead as Christopher took down the victory. Hines finished third with Owen and Kopcik rounding out the top five.

In other action, both Michael Bennett and Derek Debbis made it two-for-two in their respective classes this year by winning the late model and SK Light features, respectively.

Rich Hammann scored his maiden Stafford feature victory in the limited late model division, while Travis Hydar won the Street Stock feature.

The finish:

1. Michael Christopher Jr., 2. Keith Rocco, 3. Tyler Hines, 4. Todd Owen, 5. Stephen Kopcik, 6. Ronnie Williams, 7. Noah Korner, 8. Andrew Molleur, 9. David Arute, 10. Tyler Leary, 11. Chase Dowling, 12. Mikey Flynn, 13. Matt Vassar, 14. Joe Allegro Jr., 15. Dan Wesson, 16. Doug Meservey Jr., 17. Tom Bolles, 18. Troy Talman, 19. Bryan Narducci, 20. Jonathan Puleo, 21. Michael Gervais Jr., 22. Marcello Rufrano, 23. Teddy Hodgdon.

error: Content is protected !!