Davenport Speedway Logo

Nezworski Breaks Through At Davenport

DAVENPORT, Iowa — The Petersen Plumbing & Heating IMCA Late Models saw Andy Nezworski score his first victory of the year Friday night at Davenport Speedway. 

Nezworski was able to get by early race leader Mike Goben just after the midpoint of the race. Justin Kay came from deep in the field to finish second. 

Goben finished third with Chuck Hanna fourth and Matt Ryan fifth. 

While there was a lot of passing in the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Modified feature, but not for the lead. Ryan Duhme led all 20 laps for the win. Likewise, Tony VonDresky was second for the entire distance. 

IMCA SportMods did double duty on Friday evening. In the make-up feature from April, Logan Anderson led the way to the checkered flag. Jake Morris held the lead throughout the first half of the race, before Anderson pulled out in front. Following Morris to the checkers were Shane Paris, Doug Burkhead, and Tony Olson, in that order.

Ben Chapman brought home his second feature win in the night cap. Chapman started ninth, but was up to second by lap three. In heavy lapped traffic, Ben passed race leader Tony Olson with two laps to go. Olson finished second. Logan Veloz took third, followed by Jake Morris and Logan Anderson.

Jesse Owen captured his first Koehler Electric Street Stock feature win of the year. 

The QCjeeps.com Sport Compacts put on a show in their feature, with lots of side-by-side racing action. Jake Benischek drove his way to the lead at the midpoint of the 12-lap main. Once in the lead, Jake would not be tested. The win was his third straight at Davenport. 

The IMCA Mod Lites made a guest appearance at Davenport Friday night. Mike Zemo Jr. led flag to flag to win the feature.