Terry Schultz once again found himself in victory lane at CMS on Saturday night in B-Mod action. (Josh Allee photo)

Schultz Claims Career Win No. 82 At Central Missouri

WARRENSBURG, Mo. — Weekly Championship Racing returned to Central Missouri Speedway (CMS) on Saturday for Joslin’s Jewelry night at the races featuring POWRi-sanctioned competition among B-Mods, super stocks, midwest mods and pure stocks. 

At the end of the night, two new drivers added their names to the CMS winner’s list with Payton McDowell and Dustin Dennison claiming their first victories while veterans Aaron Poe and Terry Schultz continued their winning ways.

POWRi B-Mod Recap

Austin Charles and Cole Campbell started the 20-lap main event from row number one for the B-Mod main event.

Campbell set the early race pace out in front of the pack with Terry Schultz, Charles and Jake Richards as the front-runners. At lap five, Campbell and Schultz were side-by-side for position as Schultz made a rare appearance on the low side of the track to take command on lap six, leaving Campbell and Charles to battle for second.

Schultz led the field through lap 11 when the field was slowed by a yellow flag.

For the restart, Schultz led Campbell, Brad Smith, Charles and Richards. From this point to the finish, the drivers put on a spectacular display of hard driving that was clean and uninterrupted by caution periods. Campbell, Smith and Charles had a spirited battle for second behind Schultz. Smith moved to second by lap twelve with Charles reclaiming third by lap 15.

The final five laps saw Schultz distance himself from the rest of the field and eventually claim his 82nd career victory. Smith emerged as the runner-up finisher in a fantastic drive to second with Campbell third. Charles recorded one of his best-ever finishes in fourth while Richards was fifth and Jacob Ebert sixth.

Feature Results (20 Laps)

1. 90-Terry Schultz[4]; 2. 99S-Brad Smith[6]; 3. 22C-Cole Campbell[2]; 4. 81-Austin Charles[1]; 5. 7J-Jake Richards[3]; 6. 94-Jacob Ebert[5]; 7. 12C-Stephen Clancy[12]; 8. 15J-Jake Fetterman[8]; 9. 30-Rex Harris[9]; 10. 1K-Tim Karrick[7]; 11. 05-Jeremy Lile[13]; 12. 24L-Chris Spalding[11]; 13. R33-Austen Raybourn[10]; 14. 29-Tyler Cochran[16]; 15. (DNF) 2-Brayden Bohn[14]; 16. (DNF) 61-Sturgis Streeter[15]

POWRI Super Stocks Recap

Nick Gibson and Blaine Ewing started the Super Stock 20-lap main event from row one.

Poe set the early pace, but Ewing never let the leader slip too far from his sight through the opening laps. The two leaders pulled away from all other challengers early on in the race until an early race yellow flag flew over the field. The lap six restart saw Poe leading Ewing, Gibson, Nathan Williams and Danny McKenzie inside the top five.

Williams moved to third position on lap seven behind Poe and Ewing. By lap nine, Nathan Vaughn moved into the top three  just as the field was slowed by a second yellow-flag period. From here on, it was a three-car breakaway as Poe continued to lead Ewing and Vaughn.

Behind the trio of leaders, a fantastic battle for fourth was taking place with Williams, McKenzie and Chris Brockway. At the end of the 20-lap distance, Poe added his thirty-first career CMS win to his growing resume while Ewing settled for the runner-up spot.

Vaughn posted his strongest outing of the season in third with Williams keeping his consistent performances going for a fourth-place finish. McKenzie was fifth with Brockway coming away in sixth position.

Feature Results (20 Laps)

1. 45-Aaron Poe[4]; 2. 04-Blaine Ewing[2]; 3. 12V-Nathan Vaughn[13]; 4. 75-Nathan Williams[3]; 5. 77-Daniel McKenzie[5]; 6. 03B-Chris Brockway[12]; 7. 25-Jay Prevete[10]; 8. 00-Cory Flamm[9]; 9. 07D-Mike Daugherty[8]; 10. G1-Nick Gibson[1]; 11. 30K-Cameron Kelly[14]; 12. (DNF) 83K-Denny Fitzpatrick[11]; 13. (DNF) 59-Alex Crawford[6]; 14. (DNS) 22N-Landon Nakoneczny; 15. (DNS) 3J-Jerett Evans

POWRi Midwest Mods Recap

It was an all-ladies front row for the start of the 20-lap main event as Shaunie Lanning and Ashlyn Piburn led the field to green.

This was the first time in history two ladies occupied the front row for a main event at CMS. Lanning and Pyburn’s opening laps were highly competitive as the two drivers swapped the lead through the straights and turns in the opening trio of laps.

Pyburn unfortunately spun from contention early while Lanning settled in as the early race leader through lap nine. Pete Richardson showed some gusto by the halfway marker and found himself inside the top three along with Dustin Dennison. At the halfway marker, Lanning led Dennison, Richardson, and Logan Rash.

Dennison pressured for the lead on Lanning and, by lap 12, overtook Lanning for the lead while Richardson came to second and Logan Roark third while Lanning slipped to fifth. At the lap 18 marker, Lanning’s car stalled on the high side of turn four to draw a caution. A green, white and checkered flag finished the race as Dennison set his sights on his first-ever CMS win.

In the end, he held on for the victory in an exciting finish as he celebrated his emotional victory lane with his family. Richardson scored his strongest CMS finish in second with Roark advancing from tenth to third. Dave Meyer claimed the fourth spot while David Wood moved from twelfth to fifth at the finish.  

Feature Results (20 Laps)

1. 5D-Dustin Dennison[6]; 2. 64-Pete Richardson[4]; 3. 17-Logan Roark[10]; 4. 9M-Dave Meyer[7]; 5. 82-David Wood[12]; 6. 55K-Kenny Hubbard[9]; 7. 114-Walker Burgin[13]; 8. 59R-Logan Rash[3]; 9. 75L-Shaunie Lanning[1]; 10. 10-Cody Bray[11]; 11. (DNF) 41-Ashlyn Piburn[2]; 12. (DNF) 9-Brian Meyer[8]; 13. (DNF) 18-Joe Beard[5]; 14. (DNS) 13-Joe Marrant

POWRi Pure Stocks Recap

David Doelz and Austin Story took front-row honors for the start of the 15-lap Pure Stock main event.

At the lap one marker, it was Payton McDowell who emerged from fourth to take the lead early on, bringing Story and Spencer Reiff to the line. By lap three, Reiff moved to second behind McDowell. A quick yellow-flag period flew over the field at lap six with McDowell restarting out front.

By lap 11, the race for third featured some exciting close racing for third between Darrin Christy, David Doelz and Jonathan Evans. McDowell kept all challengers at bay and eventually went on to capture his first-ever CMS victory with Reiff crossing the line in second. Christy prevailed in a fantastic race to the finish to claim third position with Evans fourth, Ricky Tanner fifth and Doelz sixth.

Feature Results (15 Laps)

1. 216-Payton McDowell[4]; 2. 7-Spencer Reiff[6]; 3. 403-Darrin Christy[7]; 4. 89-Jonathan Evans[3]; 5. 14-Ricky Tanner[5]; 6. 4D-David Doelz[1]; 7. 90-Terry Moss[8]; 8. (DNF) 79-Austin Story[2]