Fremont Logo

Schlenk Charges From Last To Win Bill Hahn Memorial

FREMONT, Ohio — On the opening lap of the Bill Hahn Memorial late model race Tuesday at Fremont Speedway, Rusty Schlenk was involved in tangle and had to go to the work area to replace a tire.

The McClure, Ohio driver – a three time national UMP champion – methodically worked his way from the back, took the lead on lap 19 and held off Ryan Missler for his third career Fremont victory.

It was the 16th overall win of the season for Schlenk and worth $2,027.

“This win goes to my crew. They got the tire changed and got me back out there,” said Schlenk. “I love racing at Fremont and I hope we get more opportunities to be back here in 2024. On that last caution (with three laps to go) I looked at the tire tracks and saw someone was ripping up top and I knew it had to be Missler (Ryan). I moved up there and it paid off.”

Art Ball Showdown

In the Art Ball Showdown pitting the stock cars against the Fremont Speedway Dirt Trucks, the early portions of the race were a free-for-all with Shawn Valenti leading the opening lap before Kyle Moore took over to lead laps two and three before getting sideways in front of the field seven competitors. Keith Sorg then inherited the lead and  with Jamie Miller driving into the top spot on lap 10. Miller, who had three truck wins and three 305 sprint wins at “The Track That Action Built” this year, looked like he would get career win No. 45 but a caution on the last lap set up a one-lap shootout.

Craig Dippman was able to wedge his way under Miller on the restart and held on for his first career Fremont Speedway win. The stock driver also clinched the Art Ball Cup for his win and his finish earlier at Oakshade Raceway. Miller, Sorg, Kolin Schlit and Moore rounded out the top five.

“The track was very technical tonight,” said Dippman. “He (Miller) gave me just enough room to get under him and we were able to hold on. This was a very cool deal and thanks to the tracks, Cory McCaughey and everyone who put this deal together. The stocks and trucks are very even.”

In a pair of Australian Pursuits run in memory of Lin Potter, Ryan Missler and B.J. Gregory cashed the over $800 checks. In the “Call Out” match race, Kolin Schlit took the prize and in the “Buy Back” feature, Scott Hammer collected the money.

Feature Finish (27 Laps)

1. 91-Rusty Schlenk [14]; 2. 50-Ryan Missler[8] ; 3. 8-Robert Anderzack[2] ; 4. 56-BJ Gregory[18] ; 5. 5M-Ryan Markham[10] ; 6. 63-Terry Rushlow[4] ; 7. 44s-Collin Shipley[6] ; 8. 29-Nate Potts[12] ; 9. 49-Brian Ruhlman[15] ; 10. 53-Hillard Miller[9] ; 11. 23-Brad Wade[17] ; 12. 22-Brad Eitniear[7] ; 13. 71-Joe Smith[11] ; 14. 87-Jeff Geis[20] ; 15. 44-Scott Boyd Jr.[13] ; 15. 74Y-Ken Hahn[16] ; 16. 95-Steve Miller[19] ; 17. 95J-Jerry Bowersock[5] ; 18. 06-Jake Rendel[1] ; 19. 74-Jeff Warnick[3] ; 20. P3-Jeff Robertson[21] ;