Fremont Logo

Sabo Holds On Despite Late Collision

FREMONT, Ohio — A few weeks ago coming to the checkers in the 410 sprint feature at Fremont Speedway presented by Gill Construction, Zeth Sabo and Kalib Henry made contact, with Henry getting the win.

The 21-year-old Fremont native wasn’t about to let that happen again Saturday.

Coming to the checkers Sabo and Cap Henry made contact with Henry flipping and Sabo sustaining front wing damage but kept rolling and on the ensuing restart held off Cale Thomas for his second career Fremont win.

“After Cap got into me I thought we were done for. I thought the front end was out of it. We lost one a couple of weeks ago like that and I wasn’t going to let it happen again. Those guys were giving me everything they had. I got into a lapper there early and messed the top wing up too. I  can’t thank Rich and Shelly Farmer enough for giving me this opportunity and all the guys who work so hard on this,” said Sabo.

Sabo led laps 1-26 with Henry narrowly leading lap 27 and Sabo leading the final three circuits. Thomas, the All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads/Kistler Racing Products Attica Fremont Championship Series presented by the Baumann Auto Group point leader, Kalib Henry, DJ Foos and Trey Jacobs rounded out the top five of the Fort Ball Pizza Palace 410 Sprint A-main.

Sabo’s victory was worth $4,500 thanks to Ray Brooks of Gill Construction who added $500 to each of the three division A-main winners shares.

The 25-lap Fremont Federal Credit Union 305 Sprint feature finish was also exciting. Two cautions late in the race made it very interesting for Logan Riehl.

The Clyde, Ohio driver led all 25 laps but he and Jamie Miller raced side by side for several laps until Paul Weaver took second on lap 21. Just as the white flag was flying a caution flew. On the ensuing restart Weaver made contact with an infield tire, ending his run. When the green flew it was Jimmy McGrath and Miller who battled Riehl. The drag race to the checkers saw Riehl claim his first ever Fremont win over Miller, McGrath, Zack Kramer and Brandon Moore.

In a caution-filled 20 lap Burmeister Trophy Dirt Truck feature, Shawn Valenti, a four time Fremont track champion, survived to claim his second win of the year and 76th career victory at Fremont, tying him with the legendary Art Ball for second on the track’s all-time win list.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 29-Zeth Sabo[2]; 2. 23-Cale Thomas[3]; 3. 101-Kalib Henry[5]; 4. 16-DJ Foos[7]; 5. 9-Trey Jacobs[8]; 6. 22M-Dan McCarron[9]; 7. 32-Bryce Lucius[10]; 8. 2+-Brian Smith[11]; 9. 5-Kody Brewer[16]; 10. X-Mike Keegan[18]; 11. 3V-Chris Verda[15]; 12. 33W-Cap Henry[4]; 13. 98-Robert Robenalt[19]; 14. 14-Sean Rayhall[1]; 15. 28M-Conner Morrell[17]; 16. 5AU-Brock Hallett[6]; 17. 4S-Tyler Street[12]; 18. 97-Ryan Harrison[20]; 19. 35-Stuart Brubaker[13]; 20. 15C-Chris Andrews[14]; 21. 21-Larry Kingseed Jr[21]