East Moline Speedway Logo

Rothzen Romps To East Moline Glory

EAST MOLINE, Ill. — The right rear of Brandon Rothzen’s MastersBilt barely touched the turn one wall … just the way he wanted.

Using the diamond technique in turns one and three, Rothzen drove away from the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Late Model field for the 25-lap win Sunday evening at East Moline Speedway.

The victory was the Mediapolis, Iowa pilot’s first career late model win.

“I always like running the top so when it’s available that’s where I go,” Rothzen said. “I only ran this car about six times last year. I’ve won a lot in the Modified, but this is coming around and we’re getting used to it.”

Rothzen won his heat and flew from the front row, leading every circuit.

“It was great getting a good start. The restart, I wasn’t sure, but keeping it up high was good and the car was on.”

Jacob Waterman, Chuck Hanna, Andy Nezworski and Gary Webb followed.

Last year, Trey Grimm did not get a Legacy Corporation IMCA SportMod win until late August. He started a new trend in 2022 by taking the 15-lap finale.

Matt Speidel, Chuck Fox, Jesse Bodin and Josh Marth came next in the caution-filled event.

Brandon Durbin was the second Durbin family member to get a win. He took a terrific dual over Travis Denning in the J&J Camper Sales IMCA Modified 20-lap feature. The two battled high in the first two turns and used different grooves in the last turns.

George Spence III, Doug Lenth and Mike Garland rounded out the top five.

Joe Bonney became the third leader of the Dynamic Power Street Stock 15-lap main and held on through several cautions for the win. Jesse Owen, Kyler Hickenbottom, Peter Odell and Jeff Walker were next.

R.J. Gonzales paced all 15 laps of the County Waste Systems IMCA Mod Lites feature. Jacob Copley passed late for second, followed by Blake Gonzales, Jon Padilla and Anthony Guss.

Drew Burk sped by the field for a 12-lap Rudy’s Tacos IMCA Hobby Stock win. Randy LaMar, Brandon Schneider, Donnie Cole and Logan Gustaf rounded out the top five.

Track champion Cyle Hawkins won a battle with Drew Wise and brother Travis Hawkins for the Riverbend Pizza Place Sport Compact 12 lapper. Cody Proehl and Dustin Porter came next.

Ninety-three cars were in the pits and the final checkered flag fell about 9:45 p.m.


error: Content is protected !!