East Moline Speedway Logo

Ross Finds Victory Lane Once More At East Moline

EAST MOLINE, Ill. – Joe Ross looked up and then said he couldn’t remember when he won last.

“Especially at East Moline,” he said in winners circle and laughed.

The Ross family special was a bullet on the high side. The Thomson, Ill., veteran passed Gary Webb about halfway through and cruised to the 25-lap Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Late Model feature Sunday evening at East Moline Speedway.

“I found it good on the high side in (turns) one and two and the bottom was better in three and four,” Ross added. “I had no idea where anyone was behind me so I just kept rolling.”

There were several cautions early, but the field settled down and put on good battles.

Webb held off Andy Nezworski, followed by early leader Leroy Brenner and Chuck Hanna.

Mike Haines crashed and ended up on his roof during the feature, but he was not injured.

Earlier in the evening, Matt Ryan flew to the 25-lap make up feature from May 16, beating Nezworski, Ross, Hanna and Webb.

Jeff Larson kept the hot streak going with his third straight J&J Camper Sales IMCA Modified 20-lap finale. Larson passed Travis Denning for the top spot. Brandon Durbin, Jim Sandusky and Brandt Cole were next.

Nathan Balansiefen also made the top side work, sped from eighth and to the winners circle. He topped the 19-car Legacy Corporation IMCA SportMod feature. Missouri driver Adam Birck led early and held on for the runner up spot in the 15 lapper. Cody Calam, Kevin Goben and Chuck Fox followed.

Jesse Owen won for the third consecutive week in the County Waste Systems Street Stocks, holding off Rob Henry, Rick Schriner, Peter O’Dell and Kyler Hickenbottom in that 15-lapper.

Drew Burk beat Randy Lamar, Adam Parker and Steven Rangel in the Rudy’s Tacos IMCA Hobby Stocks, winning his third 12-lap main.

R.J. Gonzales started at the back, rocketed to the front and held off Mike Zemo, Jr. for the Weekend Performance IMCA Mod Lite 15-lap ender. Mike Morrow, Anthony Guss and Rob Guss followed.

Dustin Begyn took off from the front row and dominated the 12-lap Riverbend Pizza Place Sport Compact feature. Dustin Forbes, Cyle Hawkins, Tommy Staggs and Jimmy Dutlinger came next.

Sunday’s race was broadcast live by SPEED SPORT TV affiliate Done Right TV.

error: Content is protected !!