Wilmot Raceway Logo

Malueg Wires Wilmot Sprint Opener

WILMOT, Wis. — C.J. Malueg led wire to wire to score his first victory in the Liftpro Sprint Powered by Gandrud Chevrolet Winged 604 Sprint 20-lap feature to close out the season opening night of Wilmot Raceway’s 74th year of operation on Saturday.

Malueg took the lead from the start of the winged sprint main, but a red flew on lap two when Ion Stear got airborne in turn three, but never went over. 

A final caution appeared for debris with 13 laps to go erasing Malueg’s lead of over two seconds ahead of second-place Chris Klemko.

Malueg went on to the win with Klemko second, Brian Kristan third, Greg Olsen fourth and Tommy Sexton fifth.

“I have to thank my family and crew, everyone who worked on the car to get it out here,” said Malueg.  “It’s a lot of fun driving these cars.  I have to thank the fans who stuck in there with us as it got colder as the night went along.  I can’t wait for next week.”

Second-generation driver Rusty Egan took top honors in a hotly contested 20-lap AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLESS Sprints Powered by Gandrud Performance and Wilmot Raceway Catalyst Exhibits Track Series main.

Terry Kiedrowski won his first 20-lap IMCA Modified feature in a last-lap victory.

Josh Gehrig overcame a flat tire which relegated him to the back of the 20-lap Unified Street Stock feature field to come back and score the victory.