East Moline Speedway Logo

Hawkins Among East Moline Stars

EAST MOLINE, Ill. – Cyle Hawkins passed Rick Zifko about halfway through the Riverbend Pizza Place Sport Compacts and cruised to the 20-lap feature win.

He picked up $500 for his efforts on the quarter-mile, high-banked oval in beating Zifko, Michael Snyder, Tommy Staggs and Jason Rhoads.

“I was glad I could run the bottom (groove). That zero car (Zifko) was fast,” Hawkins said.

 The Blue Grass, Iowa ace also won his heat, as did Zifko, Aurora, Ill.

 “We worked hard to get ready for this. I can’t thank my family enough for everything they do.”

 The defending track champion leads the track points again with two weeks left in the regular season.

 Andy Nezworski jetted from the pole and sped to the Eriksen Chevrolet IMCA Late Model feature. The 25 lapper was shortened to 16 laps due to a second rain shower that hit the track. Matt Ryan started seventh and worked to second ahead of Joe Beal, Mack Mulvany and Mike Haines.

 Sixth finishing Jacob Waterman and Ryan are both in the top five in IMCA National Points, but Ryan holds a two-point track advantage before this.

The J&J Camper Sales IMCA Modifieds victory went to Travis Denning, taking another 20-lap finale.

Denning runs in the top five in IMCA National Points.

 Ryan Reed started on the pole and took the Legacy Corporation IMCA SportMod 15-lap ender ahead of Chuck Fox, Keith Wiersema, Jesse Bodin and Josh Marth. 

 Robert Cottom led all 15 circuits, beating Rob Henry, Jesse Owen, Rob Nylin and Pete Odell in the caution-filled Dynamic Power Street Stocks event.

 Brandon Freeburg took the County Waste Systems IMCA Mod Lites 15-lap feature, one week ahead of the division’s season championship night. 

Randy Lamar once again topped the 12-lap Rudy’s Tacos IMCA Hobby Stock feature.