Wilmot Raceway Logo

Four New Winners At Wilmot Raceway

WILMOT, Wis. — Four new winners made their way to the Wilmot Raceway victory lane for the first time this season on Saturday night.

Ryan Zielski took the lead on a restart three laps into the CK Contractors/AutoMeter Wisconsin WingLess Sprints 20-lap main event. Zielski, who overtook early race leader Chris Dodd of Trevor, went on to the victory. Dodd ended up second. Clayton Rossmann, who won the first two WingLess features of the season at Wilmot, was third. C.J. Malueg was fourth. Derek Crane took fifth.

“I don’t know what they did to this track during the off season, but it’s a lot different and really fast,” said Zielski. “I have to thank my family, sponsors, and everyone who gets the car to the track.  It ran super.”

Steve Mueller led wire to wire in the 20-lap modified feature for his first Wilmot win in over a year.  A caution three laps from the finish erased a sizeable lead Mueller had built. Nick Simons got alongside Mueller briefly, but Mueller was up to the challenge taking the checkered flag by less than a car length.  N. Simons was second. David Wirth, Joel Seegert and Jason Wirth completed the top five.

Mark Heinert took the lead from early pacesetter Andrew Kiedrowski on lap eight and went on to lap the entire field with the exception of the top three finishers. 

Rob Maule, reigning street stock track champion, took the lead three laps into the 20-lap feature. Maule went on to score the win despite a couple of cautions in the closing laps.