9zm 0076
Cap Henry (Mike Campbell photo)

Dominant Henry Wins Again At Fremont

FREMONT, Ohio — Cap Henry continued his recent hot streak behind the wheel of the Jeff Ward Motorsports 410 sprint car, claiming his third straight win at Fremont Speedway on Saturday.

It was Henry’s fourth win of the season at Fremont, and coupled with Friday’s win at Attica Raceway Park, it’s the Republic, Ohio driver’s fourth consecutive win and fifth overall of 2023.

The dominance is reminiscent of 2020 when Henry won a lot of races and claimed the title of the All Pro Aluminum Cylinder Heads/Kistler Racing Products Attica Fremont Championship Series presented by the Baumann Auto Group. Henry came into Saturday second in the AFCS points.

Henry took the lead from Cole Macedo, the 2022 AFCS champion, on lap two, sliced through heavy lapped traffic and surviving a caution with just two laps to go to earn his 16th career win at Fremont. Macedo, Nate Dussel, AFCS point leader Stuart Brubaker and Zeth Sabo rounded out the top five.

“Everything is just going our way. Sometimes when you’re good, you’re good and everyone is just doing their jobs. Zack Myers has been doing a really good job. Chris Wilson, Jeff Ward, Gary Griff…everyone has been working very hard and this thing is just so fast. It makes my job a lot of fun making sure I just do my part of it. About halfway through I was just trying to get through lapped traffic as fast as I could and I look over at Zack coming off of two and he’s telling me to slow down so obviously I was pushing the issue a little bit there. I’m so proud of everybody involved in this,” said Henry.

Bryan Sebetto wasn’t supposed to race Saturday, but when he saw it was Fremont Speedway Hall of Fame induction night, his team decided to give it a shot. It paid off as the track’s 2011 champion in the 410 sprints took the lead from teammate Seth Schneider with just nine laps to go and went on to make it a sweep of the weekend in the 305 sprints after having won the previous night at Attica. It was Sebetto’s 24th career win at Fremont and his first at the track since 2013

Dave Gumby Jr. held off several challenges from first Jamie Miller and then Dana Fry and survived a lapped truck spinning right in front of him on the last lap, then survived the ensuing one lap shoot out to claim his second Burmeister Trophy Dirt Truck feature win of the season. Gumby now has four career wins at Fremont.

The finish:

Feature (30 Laps): 1. 33w-Cap Henry[2] ; 2. 50SRS-Cole Macedo[1] ; 3. 1-Nate Dussel[8] ; 4. 35-Stuart Brubaker[7] ; 5. 23-Zeth  Sabo[5] ; 6. 5-Byron Reed[4] ; 7. 5T-Travis Philo[10] ; 8. 15C-Chris Andrews[6] ; 9. 101-Cody Maroske[18] ; 10. 8M-TJ Michael[12] ; 11. 7N-Darin Naida[15] ; 12. X-Mike Keegan[13] ; 13. 2+-Brian Smith[16] ; 14. 5E-Bobby  Elliott[20] ; 15. 75-Jerry Dahms[14] ; 16. 9Z-Duane Zablocki[21] ; 17. 26W-Cody White[17] ; 18. 7-Alex Aldrich[19] ; 19. 3V-Chris Verda[11] ; 20. 32-Bryce Lucius[3] ; 21. 50YR-Ryan Ruhl[9] ; 22. 98-Robert Robenalt[22]