Wall Stadium Speedway Logo

McCarthy Wins Race, Hopkinson Is Wall Mod Champ

WALL TOWNSHIP, N.J. — After suffering through four straight Saturday night rain outs, Wall Stadium Speedway was finally able to complete the regular season on Saturday night.

When the checkered flag waved on the regular season, seven main event winners and seven driving champions were crowned.

Eddie McCarthy battled with Tommy Martino Jr. and Blake Barney in the early going before taking the lead for good on lap 22 in the 40-lap race for Modified stock cars to take his first win of the campaign.

Martino and Barney were second and third, while Derek Hopkinson and Jarret DiGiantomasso were fourth and fifth.

Going into the event, Andrew Krause led the race for the season-long crown over Hopkinson by just one point. In the early going Krause got caught up in a first turn scramble which ended his race with suspension damage to finish 13th. Hopkinson was able to continue with body damage to finish fourth and earn his first ever Modified crown.

“I just can’t believe that we won the title,” an emotional Hopkinson said while celebrating. “My family, friends, sponsors and everyone who supports this car are responsible to this championship! This is a team sport!”

Sportsman Feature

Four time driving champion Kevin Davison raced on to win his fourth 25-lap main event of the year after wrestling with runner-up Robert Sutphin. A third place finish for Chris Silvestri earned him the Sportsman Championship, while Chas Okerson and D.J. Doyle of Freehold were fourth and fifth.

Factory Stock Feature

Rob Anderton jumped to the lead early and fought off Johnny Carpenter to win his career first Factory Stock 25-lap main event. Ryan Bilello was third, while Bryan O’Shea won his third straight Factory Stock crown by finishing fourth. Former champ and title contender Scott Riggleman was fifth.

Legend Car Feature 

Defending Legend Cars champion Tanner Jones made a rare appearance and won the division’s 25 lapper over Kevin Nowak and Justin Teresak. Ryan Kuhlthau finished fourth and won the Legend Cars championship while Cody Critelli was fifth.

Fast 4 Division Feature

Ted Olswkski led wire-to-wire to grab his first ever Fast 4 division win over Billy Pross and Sean Vuksanic who won his second straight crown. Josh Berry and Darren Burdge were fourth and fifth.

Limited Late Model Feature

Howie Conk won his fourth Limited Late Model 25-lapper for the year racing through the field in just three laps. Long Island based racers Pat Brown and Brian Doyle were second and third, while James Moorman nailed down the Limited Late Model crown by finishing fourth. Mike Tillett was fifth.

Three Quarter Midgets Feature

Ryan Tidman rocketed to the lead and never looked back in the 25 lapper for the ATQMRA Three Quarter Midgets winning over Joey Bailey and Buddy Sload who clinched the crown. Kyle Taraska and Steve Craig were fourth and fifth.